http://gamingtrend.com
December 21, 2014, 03:30:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Red Alert 2 in XP?  (Read 1377 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« on: July 11, 2005, 05:44:26 AM »

Hey guys-I can't install RA2 on my XP machine. It crashes after pressing install on auto-run-I own the retail copies, no bootleg jobbies, and I tried to copy the data from the CD to the harddrive and install like that-same crash error. Can someone else try to install or confirm that it will usually work?

Thanks.
Logged
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2005, 06:15:05 AM »

Try creating a shortcut of the install program.  Change the shortcut properties to run in compatibility mode.
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2005, 06:24:30 AM »

Tried that, and it crashes in all but NT mode, and in NT mode asks for the CD, which is in the drive? Any further or expanded info? Appreciate the help-its not that I so much want to play it right this second-but I am on a mission now if you know what I mean smile
Logged
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2005, 06:45:09 AM »

Try the other disc?

There is a thread on this on GameFAQs.

Also, try the PlanetCnC forums here (specifically this thread).

I feel like I am on this crusade as well!  Let's do this.
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2005, 07:06:40 AM »

Ok but can we wait until tomorrow? Im beat and have a long day ahead smile
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2005, 12:14:03 AM »

Also, depending on your machine, it may run too fast to play so make sure you got a program like SloMo ready.  I tried playing RA2 on a 2.53 and gameplay was insanely fast, but not in a good way.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2005, 05:16:06 PM »

Quote from: "CeeKay"
Also, depending on your machine, it may run too fast to play so make sure you got a program like SloMo ready.  I tried playing RA2 on a 2.53 and gameplay was insanely fast, but not in a good way.


I never could get this working guys, and I tried everything in that godawful Gamefaqs thread they suggested frown
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21083



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2005, 05:25:44 PM »

I'll try to install it tonight Rage.  Let me see what I can do.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2005, 05:40:26 PM »

Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
I'll try to install it tonight Rage.  Let me see what I can do.


Appreciated  :wink:
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21083



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2005, 02:27:02 AM »

Well...small steps.  I got it to install and play, the first step being:

http://www.macrovision.com/products/safedisc/safedisc.exe

Download the Safedisk update which makes their shite copy protection work with XP.  Install as normal.  

Next, open your start menu, right click on the "Red Alert 2" icon and select "Send to Desktop as shortcut"

Set the shortcut to Win98 Compatability mode.  Play away.  Enjoy, and don't forget who loves ya.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2005, 03:03:31 AM »

Dude I love you. I have no clue how in 5 minutes you figured that out and I couldn't in two weeks. You do show the love, although you are the slowest PMer ever  :wink:
Logged
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2005, 03:09:18 AM »

Wonder what the deal is with the Safedisc patch.  I know I never ran that.  Oh well, glad you got it running, Rage!

Don't forget to patch it.

There are a couple neat mods to check out, Aftermath and Devastation.  Actually, just check out the site at the root of the links for some neat utilities like a resolution changer, Tiberian Sun Mode, and a command bar customizer among other things.
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2005, 06:43:51 AM »

Now I have this terrible urge to play RA2 again.

You big jerks slywink
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.088 seconds with 49 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.018s, 2q)