http://gamingtrend.com
August 01, 2014, 10:52:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about the new $199 360 (slim)  (Read 513 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 493


View Profile
« on: November 14, 2010, 07:54:46 PM »

It says it comes with 4gb of storage, are there any options to expand that if I so desire?
Logged
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 08:09:05 PM »

you can add the normal 360 HDD at any time. there's also the newish way of using USB memory sticks of, i think, up to 16gigs as well. if not 16, it's 8.
Logged
Mystic95Z
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 493


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 08:14:46 PM »

Great! and thanks  icon_biggrin
Logged
The Grue
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8138


You are likely to be eaten by a grue.


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 08:48:16 PM »

Quote from: jersoc on November 14, 2010, 08:09:05 PM

you can add the normal 360 HDD at any time. there's also the newish way of using USB memory sticks of, i think, up to 16gigs as well. if not 16, it's 8.


The limit is actually 32G, using two 16G sticks.
Logged

XBox Live ID: The Grue
Playstation Network Name: TheGrue
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10954


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 08:51:36 PM »

Just remember that the new consoles also use a new hard drive, so you can't use your original one if you have one of them from the white 360's.
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2010, 11:53:59 PM »

Quote from: EngineNo9 on November 14, 2010, 08:51:36 PM

Just remember that the new consoles also use a new hard drive, so you can't use your original one if you have one of them from the white 360's.

That blows btw.

Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1093


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2010, 11:54:31 PM »

Quote from: EngineNo9 on November 14, 2010, 08:51:36 PM

Just remember that the new consoles also use a new hard drive, so you can't use your original one if you have one of them from the white 360's.

With this:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.48653

You can.  Just take out the drive from the original cage and put it in the new adapter.
Logged
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2010, 11:56:28 PM »

Quote from: Greggy_D on November 14, 2010, 11:54:31 PM

Quote from: EngineNo9 on November 14, 2010, 08:51:36 PM

Just remember that the new consoles also use a new hard drive, so you can't use your original one if you have one of them from the white 360's.

With this:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.48653

You can.  Just take out the drive from the original cage and put it in the new adapter.

Yes. But we would like to move the 120 gig hd with all of the Rock Band songs on it between the basement (old) 360 and the living room (new) 360 every once in a while.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1093


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2010, 11:58:11 PM »

Quote from: denoginizer on November 14, 2010, 11:56:28 PM



Yes. But we would like to move the 120 gig hd with all of the Rock Band songs on it between the basement (old) 360 and the living room (new) 360 every once in a while.

You're screwed then.  slywink

But seriously....can't you download the songs to both and have them work while you are logged into Live?
Logged
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2010, 12:00:54 AM »

Quote from: Greggy_D on November 14, 2010, 11:58:11 PM

Quote from: denoginizer on November 14, 2010, 11:56:28 PM



Yes. But we would like to move the 120 gig hd with all of the Rock Band songs on it between the basement (old) 360 and the living room (new) 360 every once in a while.

You're screwed then.  slywink

But seriously....can't you download the songs to both and have them work while you are logged into Live?

That's probably what we'll have to do. 

But we have over 900 songs. So it will be a pain in the azz.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1093


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2010, 12:06:56 AM »

When I installed a hacked 250GB Western Digital drive into my Elite, it only took a Saturday to download EVERYTHING again.  That included the same amount of RB DLC as you.  I did it from my laptop via Xbox.com.  Just queued up as much as I could at one time and let it do its thing.  The easiest way was using the past purchases (not the exact name) webpage from Xbox.com.
Logged
denoginizer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6538


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2010, 12:09:55 AM »

Quote from: Greggy_D on November 15, 2010, 12:06:56 AM

When I installed a hacked 250GB Western Digital drive into my Elite, it only took a Saturday to download EVERYTHING again.  That included the same amount of RB DLC as you.  I did it from my laptop via Xbox.com.  Just queued up as much as I could at one time and let it do its thing.  The easiest way was using the past purchases (not the exact name) webpage from Xbox.com.

Thanks for the tip.

Sounds like that's what I'll have to do.
Logged

Xbox Live Tag: denoginizer
PSN Name: denoginizer
kronovan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7903



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2010, 07:44:31 PM »

Quote from: Greggy_D on November 14, 2010, 11:54:31 PM

Quote from: EngineNo9 on November 14, 2010, 08:51:36 PM

Just remember that the new consoles also use a new hard drive, so you can't use your original one if you have one of them from the white 360's.

With this:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.48653

You can.  Just take out the drive from the original cage and put it in the new adapter.

I'd read somewhere that there's a section of the original 360 drives -media descriptor block perhaps- that when adapted and read by a Slim will prevent you from loggin into Live. I never did find out if it was fact or just a rumor. Anyone here know with 100% certainty if that's true or false?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.075 seconds with 49 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.014s, 2q)