http://gamingtrend.com
April 24, 2014, 11:42:25 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about Gameboy Color Cartridges  (Read 1121 times)
Bulletproof
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« on: October 12, 2004, 04:14:15 AM »

I am fairly new to the whole Gameboy scene, but after picking up a GBA SP and a few great titles, I am hooked.

Anyways, I am interested in picking up a couple of older Gameboy Color titles, but I've noticed that they say "Battery Save".

- Does the cartridge have a battery in it?
- Does the battery need replacing on an older cartridge?
- Can the battery be replaced for a reasonable price?
- If the batter is not working can I not save?

Sorry if these are stupid questions, but I don't want to invest in older "rare" ebay purchases if I'm gonna find problems with saving.

Thanks in advance for any info.

Bulletproof
Tebunker
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Ask How, Ask Now, Ask me

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2004, 04:16:39 AM »

Batteries and cartridges are a headache... fortunately the GBA games have gotten past this using other means of storage...

However, it's tough to replace batteries if only because it's tough to get the batteries and the tool to remove the screws. Otherwise it's no different than changing a battery in a watch.

If the battery is dead or weak you can save, but it get erased immediately. It's a real pain in the arse.

"I hate cynicism -- it's my least favorite quality and it doesn't lead anywhere. Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard and you're kind amazing things will happen." - Conan O'Brien
Destructor
Special Project Group

▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2004, 02:25:44 PM »

Well, look at it this way - only now are some of the NES batteries starting to die out.