http://gamingtrend.com
December 22, 2014, 11:49:24 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Oblivion - GOLD - Ships 3/20!!  (Read 23909 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Dan Lorenzen
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 22


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: January 29, 2006, 03:57:28 PM »

Quote from: "Destructor"
Quote from: "Hetz"
Get the new video here:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=9QC70N2M

It's about 5:30 minutes long and has a ton of new footage.

Holy shit. That's...just some amazing footage. Did you see the draw distance?  Did you see the world detail? The true 'action' in combat?


Nice to see it in that video but I'm sure it will be chopstick city on my computer. (esp with the draw distance)

Hopefully there will be an option to decrease the draw distance in the final version. Seems to me to be a easy technical adjustment for us peons with average computers to be able to run it ok.

Bring on the fog! smile
Logged
Hetz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4217


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: February 01, 2006, 11:02:12 PM »

System Specs have been released!!!

http://www.elderscrolls.com/games/oblivion_faq.htm

What are the PC system requirements?

Recommended:
3 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
1 GB System RAM
ATI X800 series, Nvidia GeForce 6800 series, or higher video card

Minimum System Requirements:
Windows XP
512MB System RAM
2 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
128MB Direct3D compatible video card
and DirectX 9.0 compatible driver;
8x DVD-ROM drive
4.6 GB free hard disk space
DirectX 9.0c (included)
DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card
Keyboard, Mouse

Supported Video Card Chipsets:
ATI X1800 series
ATI X1300 series
ATI X850 series
ATI x800 series
ATI x700 series
ATI x600 series
ATI Radeon 9800 series
ATI Radeon 9700 series
ATI Radeon 9600 series
ATI Radeon 9500 series
ATI Radeon 9000 series
NVIDIA Geforce 7800 series
NVIDIA GeForce 6800 series
NVIDIA GeForce FX series
Logged

XBox Live: Hetz OO
PSN: Hetz76
Steam: hetz_gg
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #42 on: February 01, 2006, 11:32:56 PM »

Cool I meet the Recommended specs!

Thanks Hetz!   thumbsup
Logged
Sarkus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2593


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: February 01, 2006, 11:47:06 PM »

I meet the specs, but I'm shocked by the lack of support for the Nvidia 6600 series - that's a huge chunk of market.

Come to think of it, how can they not list that when they support the 9800 series?
Logged

Roger: And you should know, I have no genitals.
Syndey: That's alright.  I have both.

- American Dad
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #44 on: February 01, 2006, 11:55:44 PM »

Quote from: "Sarkus"
I meet the specs, but I'm shocked by the lack of support for the Nvidia 6600 series - that's a huge chunk of market.

Come to think of it, how can they not list that when they support the 9800 series?

They'll support it.  I read 6800 series to mean the 6600 also.  They support the FX series which were the 5X00 cards.
Logged
Sarkus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2593


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: February 02, 2006, 12:00:13 AM »

Quote from: "warning"
Quote from: "Sarkus"
I meet the specs, but I'm shocked by the lack of support for the Nvidia 6600 series - that's a huge chunk of market.

Come to think of it, how can they not list that when they support the 9800 series?

They'll support it.  I read 6800 series to mean the 6600 also.  They support the FX series which were the 5X00 cards.


You would think so, but they specifically mention the ATI x600 series, which is to the x800 the same as 6600 is to 6800's.  I'm hoping it was just an oversight on Bethesda's part and not an indication that, for some reason, the 6600's don't work right on this game.
Logged

Roger: And you should know, I have no genitals.
Syndey: That's alright.  I have both.

- American Dad
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #46 on: February 02, 2006, 12:01:14 AM »

Im guessing my ti series gf4 is supported.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15987


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #47 on: February 02, 2006, 12:03:16 AM »

Well, my laptop won't cut it ('only' an ATI 9600 but with 64MB of RAM), but that's why I have my gaming PC. biggrin
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: February 02, 2006, 01:47:58 AM »

I'm fairly sure 6600's work with the game.
Logged
Jumangi
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1802



View Profile
« Reply #49 on: February 02, 2006, 02:05:10 AM »

If the FX and ATI 9000 cards are supported then a 6600GT has to work.
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21083



View Profile WWW
« Reply #50 on: February 02, 2006, 02:31:24 AM »

Here's to hoping that my 7800 will make up for a little bit of processor lag.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
olaf
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 582


View Profile
« Reply #51 on: February 02, 2006, 03:13:14 AM »

I have more than the recommended, barely.  My LCD is native 1600x1200, I will be pissed if Oblivion chokes at that res.

olaf
Logged
siege
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 604



View Profile
« Reply #52 on: February 02, 2006, 03:23:07 AM »

Looks like I'm gonna have to buy a 360. The minimum requirements means running it at the complete lowest in terms of detail and this is defintely a game you want with all the bells and whistles on.
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15987


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #53 on: February 02, 2006, 03:28:04 AM »

Quote from: "olaf"
I have more than the recommended, barely.  My LCD is native 1600x1200, I will be pissed if Oblivion chokes at that res.

I actually have the same worry too. I own a widescreen LCD monitor that runs at nearly (if not more) the same resolution. I do have an X800 in my gaming rig, 2GB of RAM, and a decent processor, but the whole 'unchangable resolution' issue I have makes me worried.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Fellow
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1176


View Profile
« Reply #54 on: February 02, 2006, 07:09:01 AM »

Hahaa! Recommended specs, here I come!
Logged

X360 Gamertag: LuckyFellow
PS3: Fellow
Nintendo Wii: 2484 8443 5009 9425
Punisher
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1757



View Profile
« Reply #55 on: February 02, 2006, 07:20:04 AM »

Specs are fine for me. I exceed the specs on both of my main PC's , but no mention of wether it supports x64 or not...frown

Also, did anyone catch the heatmiser cameo in the end of the video.....
Logged
gameoverman
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1422


View Profile
« Reply #56 on: February 02, 2006, 07:53:01 AM »

Hmm, nothing has made me want to ditch my trusty GF4 ti w/64mb.  Not Doom 3, not HL2, not COD 2, not even Civ4 hehe.

Maybe this will do it.  I have yet to see anything that makes me wish I had a better graphics card.
Logged
EddieA
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6990


View Profile
« Reply #57 on: February 02, 2006, 08:20:11 AM »

I'm really hoping that there will be a demo.  As with Morrowind, I'm at or just above the minimum, and Morrowind wasn't really playable at the minimum specs.
Logged

"Why did the chicken cross the Mobius strip?  To get to the same side."  - The Big Bang Theory
Farscry
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4004



View Profile
« Reply #58 on: February 02, 2006, 02:11:50 PM »

Quote from: "EddieA"
I'm really hoping that there will be a demo.  As with Morrowind, I'm at or just above the minimum, and Morrowind wasn't really playable at the minimum specs.


Agreed; I was absolutely planning on grabbing the pc version, but between the recommended specs being a bit higher than my pc (I'd require a mobo/cpu upgrade and, thus, also a RAM replacement) as well as Bethesda talking about the lack of real modding support to start with, I may just start with the 360 version for now and pick up the pc version on the cheap a year or two from now.  frown
Logged

Purge - You have unlocked an Achievement!
You are now of the rank reprobate
kathode
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2469



View Profile
« Reply #59 on: February 02, 2006, 03:40:33 PM »

Quote from: "Farscry_Redux"
as well as Bethesda talking about the lack of real modding support to start with

What do you mean?
Logged
whiteboyskim
Senior Staff Writer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7850


Hard partier


View Profile
« Reply #60 on: February 02, 2006, 04:01:19 PM »

/Doc Brown

4 point 6 GIGABYTES?!?!?!? Great Scott!

/Doc Brown

What is it with games these days taking up so damn much room? F.E.A.R. took up about the same real estate and I finally had to uninstall it because my self-imposed ceiling was getting too low. Good night nurse. Guess I'll finally have to upgrade to a 200GB hard drive.
Logged

Behold the glory of my new blog!
Filmmaking is vision plus faith plus balls, all 3 of which Hollywood knows little about.
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4127



View Profile WWW
« Reply #61 on: February 02, 2006, 05:20:25 PM »

high quality voice data takes a lot of space, hi-res textures take a lot of space... I imagine those are the biggest contributors.

That first 40MB hard drive I had in 1991, let's see the Oblivion install would span about 118 of them... it would take 3.35 million 1.44MB floppies to install... and you thought Windows 3.1 took a lot of floppies.
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
FlyingElvis
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 164


View Profile
« Reply #62 on: February 02, 2006, 05:27:20 PM »

Quote from: "coopasonic"
it would take 3.35 million 1.44MB floppies to install...

LOL, I imagine the disc swapping would suck...
Logged

Now playing: Oblivion, X3: The Reunion
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #63 on: February 02, 2006, 05:34:50 PM »

Quote from: "whiteboyskim"
Guess I'll finally have to upgrade to a 200GB hard drive.



 Tongue
Logged
Eduardo X
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2681



View Profile
« Reply #64 on: February 02, 2006, 05:46:40 PM »

Quote from: "coopasonic"
high quality voice data takes a lot of space, hi-res textures take a lot of space... I imagine those are the biggest contributors.

That first 40MB hard drive I had in 1991, let's see the Oblivion install would span about 118 of them... it would take 3.35 million 1.44MB floppies to install... and you thought Windows 3.1 took a lot of floppies.

Disc 3,246,654 would be busted, too, and you'd have to take it back anyways.
Logged

PSN ID: EduardoX
Graham
Managing Editor
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4017


View Profile WWW
« Reply #65 on: February 02, 2006, 08:54:00 PM »

Quote from: "coopasonic"
high quality voice data takes a lot of space, hi-res textures take a lot of space... I imagine those are the biggest contributors.

That first 40MB hard drive I had in 1991, let's see the Oblivion install would span about 118 of them... it would take 3.35 million 1.44MB floppies to install... and you thought Windows 3.1 took a lot of floppies.


Did you ever see the 3.5" floppy version of "The Software Toolworks Presents Star Wars Chess?"  If I remember correctly, it was on 40 floppy disks.  Eventually a CD-ROM version came out, but that's a lot of floppies.
Logged

Partial Owner of the World Champion Green Bay Packers
EddieA
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6990


View Profile
« Reply #66 on: February 03, 2006, 01:52:06 AM »

I remember when I bought Arena, the sales clerk warned me that I would need a lot of hard drive space because it would take up 25 MB  :lol:
Logged

"Why did the chicken cross the Mobius strip?  To get to the same side."  - The Big Bang Theory
Sam Hell
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 411


View Profile
« Reply #67 on: February 03, 2006, 01:56:59 AM »

Bah! I cancelled my pre order.
Maybe I'll play in a year or two when I have a better rig. My 2800xp and 6600gt don't look like they will be able to handle it well enough for my tastes.

Unfortunate, really. Was looking forward to this. I have my fingers crossed on DDO now, I tansfered the pre order over to that.
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #68 on: February 03, 2006, 02:34:19 AM »

Quote from: "EddieA"
I remember when I bought Arena, the sales clerk warned me that I would need a lot of hard drive space because it would take up 25 MB  :lol:


I remember downloading the Arena demo off a BBS with a 2400 baud modem. I had to save my time up over a few days to grab it. Was 8 megs. Took me all day and night to get it.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Farscry
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4004



View Profile
« Reply #69 on: February 03, 2006, 02:49:10 AM »

Quote from: "kathode"
Quote from: "Farscry_Redux"
as well as Bethesda talking about the lack of real modding support to start with

What do you mean?

I could swear I read an interview with one of the devs that mentioned the modding, and it was indicated that modding with Oblivion would be much more difficult than with Morrowind, and wouldn't necessarily be so plug-and-play as that game.

Methinks maybe my recollection is wrong?
Logged

Purge - You have unlocked an Achievement!
You are now of the rank reprobate
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21083



View Profile WWW
« Reply #70 on: February 03, 2006, 02:55:18 AM »

I was watching the making-of on Oblivion and it looked pretty drag-drop.  You'll be able to mod your heart out I'm sure.  smile
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« Reply #71 on: February 03, 2006, 02:51:12 PM »

Quote from: "Zarkon"
Here's a guess at system specs:  Note, these are what I'd think to be about minimum specs.

P4 2.0 Ghz or Athlon XP 2000+
512 MB Ram
Radeon 9700 / Geforce 5200
3-4 gigs HDD space
Windows XP or Windows 2000.

This is just a guess, by the by.


So how close was I?

CPU:  On the button
Ram:  On the button
Video Card:  I actually overestimated, as a Radeon 9xxx or higher will work, as will a GF FX series (5200 and up).  
Hard Drive Space:  I under-estimated by a gig or two here.
OS:  Okay, so it doesn't support 2K.  Something tells me it'll run on it, though, but be unsupported.

Pretty good guess, if I do say so myself. biggrin

Best part?  The system I'm hoping to get built in the contest SHOULD meet the recommended system specs, although maybe not on video.
Logged
Rob_Merritt
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 925


View Profile WWW
« Reply #72 on: February 03, 2006, 04:07:41 PM »

I have a feeling that even though my PC meets the recommended requirements, I have a feeling that my 360 will still run the game far better. Guess we'll know for sure in two months.
Logged

Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #73 on: February 03, 2006, 04:28:33 PM »

Quote from: "Rob_Merritt"
I have a feeling that even though my PC meets the recommended requirements, I have a feeling that my 360 will still run the game far better. Guess we'll know for sure in two months.
My PC is right on the bottom end of these specs (mostly because of the vid card), but I am 99% sure i will get the 360 version and wait to play it on PC when it hits 19.99 there. I think the 360 version is going to look better and be worth it.
Logged
kathode
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2469



View Profile
« Reply #74 on: February 03, 2006, 06:18:06 PM »

Quote from: "Farscry_Redux"

I could swear I read an interview with one of the devs that mentioned the modding, and it was indicated that modding with Oblivion would be much more difficult than with Morrowind, and wouldn't necessarily be so plug-and-play as that game.

Methinks maybe my recollection is wrong?


Should be pretty much similar to Morrowind.  The main difference is that we've got a much more complex AI system and all that functionality is exposed - so "more difficult" is one way to put that, but it's also better for the modder in the end.  The basics are the same as Morrowind really - grab something from a list, throw it into the world, save out a plug-in.
Logged
Hetz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4217


View Profile
« Reply #75 on: February 04, 2006, 12:41:47 AM »

Quote from: "Zarkon"
Quote from: "Zarkon"
Here's a guess at system specs:  Note, these are what I'd think to be about minimum specs.

P4 2.0 Ghz or Athlon XP 2000+
512 MB Ram
Radeon 9700 / Geforce 5200
3-4 gigs HDD space
Windows XP or Windows 2000.

This is just a guess, by the by.


So how close was I?

CPU:  On the button
Ram:  On the button
Video Card:  I actually overestimated, as a Radeon 9xxx or higher will work, as will a GF FX series (5200 and up).  
Hard Drive Space:  I under-estimated by a gig or two here.
OS:  Okay, so it doesn't support 2K.  Something tells me it'll run on it, though, but be unsupported.

Pretty good guess, if I do say so myself. biggrin

Best part?  The system I'm hoping to get built in the contest SHOULD meet the recommended system specs, although maybe not on video.


They actually updated the system specs yesterday and took out some of the lower end ATi support, before it went all the way down to the Radeon 9000 series. They took that out and now just have the cut off at 9500.

ATI X1900 series
ATI X1800 series
ATI X1600 series
ATI X1300 series
ATI X850 series
ATI x800 series
ATI x700 series
ATI x600 series
ATI Radeon 9800 series
ATI Radeon 9700 series
ATI Radeon 9600 series
ATI Radeon 9500 series
Logged

XBox Live: Hetz OO
PSN: Hetz76
Steam: hetz_gg
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21083



View Profile WWW
« Reply #76 on: February 04, 2006, 02:21:24 AM »

So...my integrated Intel laptop isn't gonna work, is that what you are saying? slywink
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Punisher
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1757



View Profile
« Reply #77 on: February 04, 2006, 03:10:47 AM »

Quote from: "coopasonic"
high quality voice data takes a lot of space, hi-res textures take a lot of space... I imagine those are the biggest contributors.

That first 40MB hard drive I had in 1991, let's see the Oblivion install would span about 118 of them... it would take 3.35 million 1.44MB floppies to install... and you thought Windows 3.1 took a lot of floppies.


I think it would actually take approx 3272 floppies, if it was on compressed.

1GB is around 1024MB so 4.6GB should be around 4711MB divide by 1.44MB and you get approx 3272, so not as bad as you think. slywink
Logged
Atragon
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 427


View Profile
« Reply #78 on: February 04, 2006, 03:30:34 AM »

Quote from: "Punisher"
I think it would actually take approx 3272 floppies, if it was on compressed.

1GB is around 1024MB so 4.6GB should be around 4711MB divide by 1.44MB and you get approx 3272, so not as bad as you think. slywink


Oh sure, only 3272 floppies. :lol:
Logged

"We do what we must because we can."
X-Box Live: TragicNut
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4127



View Profile WWW
« Reply #79 on: February 04, 2006, 04:40:12 AM »

Quote from: "Punisher"
Quote from: "coopasonic"
high quality voice data takes a lot of space, hi-res textures take a lot of space... I imagine those are the biggest contributors.

That first 40MB hard drive I had in 1991, let's see the Oblivion install would span about 118 of them... it would take 3.35 million 1.44MB floppies to install... and you thought Windows 3.1 took a lot of floppies.


I think it would actually take approx 3272 floppies, if it was on compressed.

1GB is around 1024MB so 4.6GB should be around 4711MB divide by 1.44MB and you get approx 3272, so not as bad as you think. slywink


oops, got an extra K in there  :oops:  so it would take 3.5 million 1.44 KB floppies! uhhh.. yah that's the ticket.
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 6   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.137 seconds with 103 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.043s, 2q)