http://gamingtrend.com
December 20, 2014, 05:24:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Majesty 2 announced  (Read 7116 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9485



View Profile WWW
« on: April 18, 2008, 09:11:08 PM »

Just saw on bluesnews that Majesty 2 was announced.  Finally!
Logged
Azhag
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1848


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 11:18:18 PM »

Wow, that took a while... did enjoy the first. Never understood why they didn't make a sequel, as it didn't seem like it would be that tough to do.
Logged
Hrothgar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1539


Do you Talk Strategy?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 11:37:25 PM »

Quote from: Azhag on April 18, 2008, 11:18:18 PM

Wow, that took a while... did enjoy the first. Never understood why they didn't make a sequel, as it didn't seem like it would be that tough to do.
From what I understand, Cyberlore put together an alpha engine to demo a 3D Majesty 2.  They couldn't find anyone to publish it.  They retooled and built that Playboy: The Mansion game.  That kind of bombed and Cyberlore left game development.  I believe they became Minerva developing virtual training software.  So this game will be from 1C and published by Paradox.
Logged

Cheers,
Hrothgar
Live gamertag & PSN name: HrothgarGG
I'm updating my website again.

"No, not alone."  -- War, Darksiders
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11552


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2008, 12:02:30 AM »

There's a trailer on youtube that's so terribly done I can't convince myself it's not fake.

Here it is:  http://youtube.com/watch?v=2pqzmz1ol7c

I mean, the graphics are serviceable, the animation is kind of disjointed but still fine enough, the music is awesome to hear again...but since when is Majesty about a monster going for a walk and taking a nap?  Why is there not a single hero to be seen, or at least a tax collector?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2008, 12:07:36 AM by wonderpug » Logged
EddieA
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6988


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2008, 12:33:20 AM »

The video is probably just to show off the engine and graphics.  They probably just stuck the monster in so that people would have something to look at other than rolling hills.
Logged

"Why did the chicken cross the Mobius strip?  To get to the same side."  - The Big Bang Theory
da Toad
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 37


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2008, 06:36:26 AM »

Being reported on Gamespot as well. Nice little blurb on the history as well.
http://www.gamespot.com/news/6189596.html
Logged
Gratch
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12600


GO UTES!!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2008, 12:57:45 PM »

This is fantastic news.  Majesty was one of my favorite games back in the day, and I've been dying to see an update.   Certainly looking forward to this, and keeping my fingers crossed that my ancient system will be able to run it.
Logged

JohnathanStrange
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 604


Noted Humanitarian


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2008, 02:17:08 PM »

Quote from: wonderpug on April 19, 2008, 12:02:30 AM

There's a trailer on youtube that's so terribly done I can't convince myself it's not fake.

Here it is:  http://youtube.com/watch?v=2pqzmz1ol7c

I mean, the graphics are serviceable, the animation is kind of disjointed but still fine enough, the music is awesome to hear again...but since when is Majesty about a monster going for a walk and taking a nap?  Why is there not a single hero to be seen, or at least a tax collector?
  Yeah, where's the tax collector! Stupid giant prolly ate him. I ain't buying this...travesty of a farce of...sorry... but when I think of those uncollected sales taxes...  icon_wink
Logged

You just don't give up do you? You seize life by the throat and shake it like a topless bartender mixing a martini! -- Mayor Adam West
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 06, 2009, 04:06:54 PM »

here's a Q&A about the sequel.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2009, 09:52:35 PM »

Hmm, looks interesting.  The first game completely passed me by.  What did I miss?
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2009, 10:35:09 PM »

Quote from: Huw the Poo on June 06, 2009, 09:52:35 PM

Hmm, looks interesting.  The first game completely passed me by.  What did I miss?
best game ever!! I played the first majesty,and its expansion to death. If you see it, get it.

basically, a Kingdom simulator, where you build your kingdom with specialed building - from those you get your heroes and gold, and you place rewards at places or on monsters to get heroes to do your dirty jobs...damn it was fun!
Logged

A new one
Freezer-TPF-
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1372


First in war and peace, second in the NL East.


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2009, 10:53:35 PM »

Quote from: Huw the Poo on June 06, 2009, 09:52:35 PM

Hmm, looks interesting.  The first game completely passed me by.  What did I miss?

It's available on Impulse, but I've read reports in the Impulse forums of problems getting it to run on newer rigs.
Logged

Signature on file at the county clerk's office.
Cragmyre
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 682



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2009, 11:17:11 PM »

I bought it from Impulse and it runs well on Vista 32 - might have locked up once or twice
Logged

I suffer from EGADD - Electronic Gaming Attention Deficit Disorder
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2009, 06:41:02 AM »

Perhaps I'll pick it up at some point then.  Thanks guys!
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2009, 05:01:01 PM »

some new screenshots.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2009, 05:14:28 PM »

Its coming for the 360 as well??  eek thats pretty great news!!
Logged

A new one
Gratch
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12600


GO UTES!!


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2009, 05:32:05 PM »

Quote from: Razgon on June 29, 2009, 05:14:28 PM

Its coming for the 360 as well??  eek thats pretty great news!!

First time I'd heard that as well.
Logged

Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2009, 05:51:22 PM »

I've been reading some Q & A's over at the forums, and..it doesnt look to good.

Basically, a lot of stuff was cut to due tight developement schedule. For instance, there wont be any freestyle gaming, and the scenarious that will be there, will not have options such as victory conditions or anything.

I will wait and see...not so hot on this anymore

source: http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/showthread.php?t=394314&page=1
Logged

A new one
Farscry
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4004



View Profile
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM »

No freestyle maps or modifyable conditions? Boo!

I finally did some reading last week, found out that Majesty 1 works fine in Vista 64-bit, and picked it up over the weekend. Wow, that is one seriously fun game! biggrin It's very playable, I just had to break down and actually read the instructions to get a handle on what was going on. slywink

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!
Logged

Purge - You have unlocked an Achievement!
You are now of the rank reprobate
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2009, 05:58:03 PM »

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

No freestyle maps or modifyable conditions? Boo!

I finally did some reading last week, found out that Majesty 1 works fine in Vista 64-bit, and picked it up over the weekend. Wow, that is one seriously fun game! biggrin It's very playable, I just had to break down and actually read the instructions to get a handle on what was going on. slywink

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!

damn you!! Now I need to play it...anyone fancy a MP :-D
Logged

A new one
Gratch
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12600


GO UTES!!


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2009, 07:04:23 PM »

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!

How is the scrolling speed?  I installed my original version off the discs a while back, and the game scrolled so fast it was unplayable.  If your cursor got anywhere near the edge of the screen, you ended up halfway across the map!
Logged

Mithridates
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 631


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2009, 07:48:11 PM »

Quote from: Gratch on June 29, 2009, 07:04:23 PM

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!

How is the scrolling speed?  I installed my original version off the discs a while back, and the game scrolled so fast it was unplayable.  If your cursor got anywhere near the edge of the screen, you ended up halfway across the map!

I had the same exact problem, I was pretty bummed out about it.
Logged
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11552


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2009, 07:50:36 PM »

I seem to remember working around that by avoiding the edges of the screen (or possibly disabling edge scroll?) and using the arrow keys to scroll instead. 
Logged
Farscry
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4004



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2009, 08:36:51 PM »

Quote from: Gratch on June 29, 2009, 07:04:23 PM

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!

How is the scrolling speed?  I installed my original version off the discs a while back, and the game scrolled so fast it was unplayable.  If your cursor got anywhere near the edge of the screen, you ended up halfway across the map!

No problems here. Could be my pc configuration, or maybe it's something Stardock did through Impulse, but scrolling speed feels right where it should be.
Logged

Purge - You have unlocked an Achievement!
You are now of the rank reprobate
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2009, 08:37:46 PM »

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 08:36:51 PM

Quote from: Gratch on June 29, 2009, 07:04:23 PM

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!

How is the scrolling speed?  I installed my original version off the discs a while back, and the game scrolled so fast it was unplayable.  If your cursor got anywhere near the edge of the screen, you ended up halfway across the map!

No problems here. Could be my pc configuration, or maybe it's something Stardock did through Impulse, but scrolling speed feels right where it should be.

its on impulse?? SOLD!

edit: Damn - Note for nVidia Card Owners: This game will only work with nVidia 94_24 drivers or less. ....so sad, but I do not want to downgrade my drivers for a game
« Last Edit: June 29, 2009, 08:39:38 PM by Razgon » Logged

A new one
Victoria Raverna
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1097


Auspiciousness, prosperity, and good fortune


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2009, 10:42:00 PM »

Quote from: Razgon on June 29, 2009, 08:37:46 PM

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 08:36:51 PM

Quote from: Gratch on June 29, 2009, 07:04:23 PM

Quote from: Farscry on June 29, 2009, 05:56:12 PM

Anyone who hasn't played Majesty 1, it's on Impulse and runs like a champ. Only $10! Go snag it!

How is the scrolling speed?  I installed my original version off the discs a while back, and the game scrolled so fast it was unplayable.  If your cursor got anywhere near the edge of the screen, you ended up halfway across the map!

No problems here. Could be my pc configuration, or maybe it's something Stardock did through Impulse, but scrolling speed feels right where it should be.

its on impulse?? SOLD!

edit: Damn - Note for nVidia Card Owners: This game will only work with nVidia 94_24 drivers or less. ....so sad, but I do not want to downgrade my drivers for a game

From what I can find on the internet, seem like the problem is with the video codec driver. You can still run the game without downgrading if you disable the directdraw acceleration or you delete or replace the binkw32.dll file. Haven't tried it myself, still downloading the game from Impulse. I'll post here once I try the workaround.

http://www.gamespot.com/pc/strategy/majestythefantasykingdomsim/show_msgs.php?topic_id=m-1-37612645&pid=250542&page=1
Logged
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: June 30, 2009, 06:03:33 AM »

Thanks VR - looking forward to hearing it :-)
Logged

A new one
Victoria Raverna
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1097


Auspiciousness, prosperity, and good fortune


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: June 30, 2009, 12:05:33 PM »

Quote from: Razgon on June 30, 2009, 06:03:33 AM

Thanks VR - looking forward to hearing it :-)

Seem to run just fine on my machine with NVidia driver 186.18, but I'm running Vista 32-bit. Maybe the problem was with Windows XP.
Logged
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: July 02, 2009, 02:12:06 PM »

RE majesty 1 - The game is on sale on Impulse for 4.95 dollars...of course right after I bought it for 10 bucks :-D
Logged

A new one
stimpy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 814


I'm makin a move!!


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2009, 04:24:21 PM »

Is there micro-management in Majesty?
Is it like a Civ game?
Logged
Victoria Raverna
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1097


Auspiciousness, prosperity, and good fortune


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: July 03, 2009, 03:32:32 AM »

Quote from: stimpy on July 02, 2009, 04:24:21 PM

Is there micro-management in Majesty?
Is it like a Civ game?

No. You build buildings. You don't directly control your men. The only way to influence them is by posting rewards or bounties.
Nothing like Civ.

Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: August 20, 2009, 06:48:33 AM »

new Majesty 2 trailer  icon_lol
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: August 28, 2009, 03:09:31 PM »

and the demo is due September 15th.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
stimpy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 814


I'm makin a move!!


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: August 28, 2009, 03:31:39 PM »

If you preorder Majesty 2 from Impluse this weekend, you get Majesty 1 for free.
Logged
Gratch
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12600


GO UTES!!


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: August 29, 2009, 01:54:02 PM »

Quote from: stimpy on August 28, 2009, 03:31:39 PM

If you preorder Majesty 2 from Impluse this weekend, you get Majesty 1 for free.

From what I understand, the Impulse version of Majesty 1 is a nearly unplayable mess.  Was going to pick it up last week, but there is a huge thread in their forums of people who can't get it to run.  Be warned.
Logged

baelthazar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1095



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: August 29, 2009, 03:05:51 PM »

I think it is all versions of Majesty Gold, actually. There is something on the Gamersgate website about needing to have a certain nVidia driver and under to run. This leads me to believe that the newest nVidia drivers are not compatible with it.

Bael
Logged
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: August 29, 2009, 03:27:16 PM »

Quote from: baelthazar on August 29, 2009, 03:05:51 PM

I think it is all versions of Majesty Gold, actually. There is something on the Gamersgate website about needing to have a certain nVidia driver and under to run. This leads me to believe that the newest nVidia drivers are not compatible with it.

Bael

I have no issues with the games at all, and uses Nvidia drivers, albeit its the Mobile ones... I've also heard others say there's no real issues, only in some movies for some people
Logged

A new one
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8302


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: September 12, 2009, 07:55:49 PM »

Majesty 2 to be released through Impulse at September 18th
Logged

A new one
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: September 13, 2009, 05:32:03 PM »

looks like the demo got leaked early.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Lee
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3463


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: September 13, 2009, 09:12:26 PM »

Yeah but where?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.173 seconds with 103 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.063s, 2q)