http://gamingtrend.com
October 20, 2014, 11:57:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Madden 09 impressions  (Read 5686 times)
Teggy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Eat lightsaber, jerks!

View Profile
« on: August 13, 2008, 12:22:35 AM »

Got it for the 360 and have played through the test and one game so far. I can't say if it's good or bad, but here are some initial impressions.

The test is a cool idea, but I think it needs some tweaking.  I got all-madden difficulty for rush offense and rookie difficulty for rush defense. I know I am not that good at rushing, and when I played my first game I was lucky to get a yard on a rush.  Now, the good thing is that over time it will adjust down, but it seems the test was a little flawed.

The controls are overwhelming.  This has been a problem for me with more recent Madden games, and it's gotten worse.  I'm not saying that it is bad that there is that level of detail in the game, but I wish there was a good way to learn them. The virtual trainer doesn't seem as good a way to learn the controls as they training camp was, although I am now remembering I didn't look at what was under the mini-games menu, and maybe there is something good in there. But I would really like it if there were ways to easily do drills and learn how to do the lead blocking, total receiver control, highlight stick, weapons, shifts, audibles, etc. It's going to take a lot of patience for me to learn the game.

The first game was in the rain and there was a good amount of stuttering during the "cutscenes". I started up a game without rain and there was still some, but not as bad.  I'm curious if other people experience that.  I'm running at 720p.

Overall, I know I have barely scratched the surface of the game - there are so many modes that I'm looking forward to try out.