http://gamingtrend.com
September 01, 2014, 03:29:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is This What I Think It Is? (360 related)  (Read 1355 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« on: November 15, 2005, 01:33:18 AM »

An Official MS VGA Adapter?  This is the first I heard about it (I was reading through the 360 manual and saw it referrenced).
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1093


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2005, 01:38:51 AM »

Looks like it.  So you end up running at what......1024x768 on your PC monitor?
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2005, 01:44:52 AM »

Quote from: "Greggy_D"
Looks like it.  So you end up running at what......1024x768 on your PC monitor?


 :lol:   that's the max my current monitor does.  I'm basically interested cause it's cheaper than buyin a new TV at the moment.  40 bucks and I get to play my 360 w/o having to worry about sharing the TV.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1093


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2005, 01:46:18 AM »

Quote from: "CeeKay"
:lol:   that's the max my current monitor does.  


You have a 15 inch monitor????   :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:

j/k
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2005, 02:20:28 AM »

Oops, my max is 1280 x 1024.  It's a 17 inch I got for my old setup.  I keep meaning to get in on one of those great Dell deals but I always miss them.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2005, 02:41:18 AM »

Explain what this does Ceekay? Can I use this to run 360 games in HD in that 1070dpi thingamabob? Becuase my regular tv in my gaming room sucks very very badly.
Logged
Dafones
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2150


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2005, 03:22:32 AM »

Quote from: "Greggy_D"
Quote from: "CeeKay"
:lol:   that's the max my current monitor does.  


You have a 15 inch monitor????   :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:  :lol:

j/k



Oh God, I'm so embarassed. I have a 15 inch monitor. Waaaa haaaa haaa haaaa!!!  :cry:   :cry:   :cry:
Logged

Now Playing: GTA - San Andreas [PS2]
Yoshi's Island DS [DS]
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2005, 04:26:55 AM »

Quote from: "Calvin"
Explain what this does Ceekay? Can I use this to run 360 games in HD in that 1070dpi thingamabob? Becuase my regular tv in my gaming room sucks very very badly.


All I know is you can hook it up to your monitor, which should give you a better resolution.  I'm not sure what PC resolutions are equivalent to the Video outputs settings of 480p, 720p, or 1080i.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18512


Thirty. Minutes.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2005, 02:29:09 PM »

I've got a 2405FPW with component ins... woo hoo! (1920x1080 and 1920x1200 for me please.. biggrin )
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2005, 09:08:10 PM »

Quote from: "Purge"
I've got a 2405FPW with component ins... woo hoo! (1920x1080 and 1920x1200 for me please.. biggrin )


Does that mean you can play on your monitor in the same way you could play on an HDTV? (I realize I am repeating my question, hoping someone can answer for me smile )
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2005, 03:58:32 AM »

Not sure if this will answer Calvins question, but this is supposedly a screenshot of the options that come up when the VGA adapter is hooked up.  I found it on the xbox.com forums, and it is in German, so I am not sure of the authenticity.

Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
mytocles
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4901



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2005, 04:45:12 AM »

Ha-ha, CeeKay - way to kill a thread!

Now Qbe does Japanese, I can do a tiny bit of Spanish, and can recite the German alphabet - from high school, for some bizarre reason it's stuck with me.  And of course, you know high school languages - I can also ask Rolf to pass be the bread and butter, or I can ask where a library or a toilet is...  And, for me - the numbers mean nothing, soooo.... :roll:

And a 15-inch monitor? I'd probably kill for one of those... I'm actually afraid to measure my old Dell Latitude laptop screen - too scary!  :shock:
Logged

Mytocles (MY-toe-cleez)

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!"
- I don't remember who said it, and probably neither do they...
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2005, 08:45:55 AM »

While I'm glad there's a D-Sub adapter, does anyone know if there's plans for a DVI connection?

Viewsonic has a 27" LCD HDTV that I've been eyeballing for a while and it looks like it would be the perfect mate to an Xbox 360, but only if the 360 has DVI as an option.
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11328


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2005, 01:32:20 PM »

Quote from: "mytocles"
Now Qbe does Japanese, I can do a tiny bit of Spanish, and can recite the German alphabet - from high school, for some bizarre reason it's stuck with me.  And of course, you know high school languages - I can also ask Rolf to pass be the bread and butter, or I can ask where a library or a toilet is...  And, for me - the numbers mean nothing, soooo.... :roll:

The screenshot text doesn't really say anything interesting, basically:
"If you choose this new setting, you're going to be asked if you see a picture.  If you don't see the picture for 10 seconds, your console will go back to your old settings.  Press 'A' to return to David Hasselhof's Greatest Hits."
Logged
mytocles
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4901



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2005, 03:06:14 PM »

Quote
The screenshot text doesn't really say anything interesting, basically:
"If you choose this new setting, you're going to be asked if you see a picture. If you don't see the picture for 10 seconds, your console will go back to your old settings. Press 'A' to return to David Hasselhof's Greatest Hits."

Pretty funny, Wonderpug!  Now to find that link to those Greatest Hits... Tongue

Thread-wise:  I got brave and measured my screen... 14" frown

A question:  what is the most reasonably priced "item" you could connect the 360 to that would also be relatively mobile, even if large-ish?  Notice I didn't say cheapest  - Im sure none of them will be cheap.  I've never really understood what you could do with, for example, a flat screen "monitor."  If none of that made sense, essentially, what can you connect to the xbox with that VGA adapter - that isn't a square-box tv? And, no - I don't mean my laptop!  :?
Logged

Mytocles (MY-toe-cleez)

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!"
- I don't remember who said it, and probably neither do they...
Jumangi
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1797



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 18, 2005, 07:49:34 PM »

http://www.gamespot.com/features/6139672/p-2.html

Quote
The system allows you to set your display resolution and aspect ratio depending on the type of video cables you use. VGA cables will give you six different resolution options: 640x480, 848x480, 1024x768, 1280x720, 1280x768, and 1360x768. Component cables will give you 480p, 720p, and 1080i resolution choices. Games are actually rendered internally at 720p, and the ATI video engine scales the video up or down to the desired resolution.


This doesn't quite jive with that screenshot since it shows an option of 1280x1024. Maybe someone who goes for the VGA adapter can post what the actual supported resolutions are of US 360's.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.097 seconds with 54 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.019s, 2q)