http://gamingtrend.com
October 25, 2014, 07:50:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do you know if a game has Starforce?  (Read 1393 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
corruptrelic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3555


View Profile
« on: July 19, 2006, 12:49:23 AM »

Unless you open up and install it, at which point, you can't return it.
We can't even trade in PC games to EB anymore like we could in the past, so there's little resale value in PC games compared to console games.

There's a few PC games I'd like to pick up (the just released Warpath chief among them) but how do you know if it has Starforce? I'd like to keep my aging PC Starforce-free in show of support to those developers that copyright their stuff the right way.
Logged

"A gladiator does not fear death. He embraces it. Caresses it. Fucks it. Every time he enters the arena, he slides his cock into the mouth of the beast."
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2006, 01:03:41 AM »

Probably just search and ask around.  Seems like if a game uses Starforce there will be plenty of people complaining about it.  Also try the official forums for a particular game.

Here is a list, but it is a bit outdated.
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Dreamshadow
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3038


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 01:25:24 AM »

http://www.daemon-tools.cc    It's the website for Daemon Tools, a virtual disk tool.  On that site they have a database of games that is relatively up to date.
Logged

Tom "Dreamshadow" Tjarks
Aunt Wu: Care to hear your fortune, handsome?
Iroh: At my age there is really only one big surprise left, and I'd just as soon leave it a mystery.
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21075



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 02:41:51 AM »

Quote from: "corruptrelic"
Unless you open up and install it, at which point, you can't return it.
We can't even trade in PC games to EB anymore like we could in the past, so there's little resale value in PC games compared to console games.

There's a few PC games I'd like to pick up (the just released Warpath chief among them) but how do you know if it has Starforce? I'd like to keep my aging PC Starforce-free in show of support to those developers that copyright their stuff the right way.


Here is a fairly comprehensive list.  It is up through May of this year.  If you are ever in doubt, I can find out.

http://www.glop.org/starforce/list.php
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Itsatrap
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 237


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2006, 02:48:41 AM »

The lists are great, but keep in mind that European publishers and North America publishers sometimes independently decide to include (or exclude) Starforce.  The unfortunate side-effect is that some games may be listed on there, but not use Starforce for the Euro or NA release.

- Alan
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21075



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2006, 04:12:41 AM »

Quote from: "Itsatrap"
The lists are great, but keep in mind that European publishers and North America publishers sometimes independently decide to include (or exclude) Starforce.  The unfortunate side-effect is that some games may be listed on there, but not use Starforce for the Euro or NA release.

- Alan


Very very true.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2006, 05:36:31 AM »

Quote
How do you know if a game has Starforce?


The monitor spins all the way around, it pukes, it floats above the desk, or it says "IT BURNS!!" when you spill cola on it.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Zarkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4848


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2006, 01:18:30 PM »

Very easy way for one version of Starforce:  If you install the game and it says "installing protection" and "you must reboot" and won't let you play UNTIL you reboot?  You've got Starforce.
Logged
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18582



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2006, 03:30:15 PM »

http://www.daemon-tools.cc/dtcc/gamedb.php?letter=all
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
Zero
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1331



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2006, 03:44:06 PM »

How well does the Starforce cleaner utility work?  I've been reluctant to install games with Starforce...and would probably want to remove any errant games that I missed.  Any one ever used the cleaner utility?
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2006, 04:07:09 PM »

I heard you'll know you have Starforce on your PC when you wake up one morning to find Satan using your monitor for a commode.....
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Dreamshadow
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3038


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2006, 05:04:55 PM »

Another indicator of Starforce is a reboot requirement at the end of the install of the game.  I'll mention that this isn't always a way to know because DirectX can also cause this.  But if you know your DirectX is up to date, and a small rectangular box pops up requesting a reboot before you can run the program (and the box looks nothing like the standard InstallShield dialog) then it's prolly starforce.


Starforce has a value component too, which appears on Hard Truck: Apocalypse.  It doesn't install any drivers, but runs more like a SecureROM/Safedisk protection, with a Verifying Disc screen appearing before the game boots.
Logged

Tom "Dreamshadow" Tjarks
Aunt Wu: Care to hear your fortune, handsome?
Iroh: At my age there is really only one big surprise left, and I'd just as soon leave it a mystery.
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15963


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2006, 05:09:28 PM »

Quote from: "Zero"
How well does the Starforce cleaner utility work?  I've been reluctant to install games with Starforce...and would probably want to remove any errant games that I missed.  Any one ever used the cleaner utility?

Last time I had to use it, it worked great. Yeah, it comes from the developer themselves, but it works.

http://www.glop.org/starforce/remove.php
(not the Starforce developer page, but a site that deals with all things Starforce including a semi-current list of games that have it)

That link also includes the manual way of removing Starforce, if you don't trust the program.

Dreamshadow - that so called 'Starforce' on Hard Truck is anything but, as it was cracked with a no-CD the day the game came out. I'd prefer that version, personally. No Starforce. biggrin
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Zero
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1331



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2006, 03:07:39 AM »

Thanks Destructor...good to know it can be removed.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.113 seconds with 51 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.039s, 2q)