http://gamingtrend.com
December 22, 2014, 08:41:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HL2 performance thread  (Read 4548 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Xmann
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2635

Ironman in training


View Profile
« on: November 16, 2004, 08:59:04 AM »

Ok i'll be the first to start a thread about a concern i'm sure alot will have.  I've played the first 10 minutes so far and i'm getting what i would consider mediocre performance.
My system:
Althon 2400
1g ram
I'm running at 1024 and at what i would condsider moderate settings and i'm getting stuttering and breaks in rendering.  Anyone else?
Logged

lildrgn
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1406


It's not the years, it's the mileage.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2004, 09:18:37 AM »

Athlon XP 2800+
512mb
Geforce MX5700 (generally considered KRAP)

Running at 1280x1024 and it is smooth. Rare stuttering when moving quick, but extremely playable.

Forgot to add that my Advanced settings are defaulted to medium on pretty much everything. I tried to bump up character models and textures, but got lots of stuttering. No thanks! It's awesome at default levels.
Logged

jessie
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 225


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2004, 09:25:08 AM »

A64 3400+
1GB Corsair XMS RAM
Nvidia 6800GT

Runs very well at 1280x960 with 4xFSAA and 8xAF.  Load times seem a bit long, and stutters a bit shortly after loading.
Logged

http://www.grandtheftblogger.com


XBOX Live! Gamer Tag: jessthelaw
Xmann
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2635

Ironman in training


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2004, 09:29:17 AM »

hmm, maybe i need to play with some settings then.  I was expecting very smooth performance and i'm getting the opposite.
And ya load times are really long thus far.
Logged

TheMissingLink
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6235


TML, for short.


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2004, 10:38:11 AM »

AMD Athlon XP 2700+
2.17Ghz
1.00 GB of Ram
Geforce 4 Ti4600

I was worried before purchasing...but I have no complains.  It doesn't run silky smooth all the time, there is some stuttering when entering an outdoor area, but I'm very happy at how good it looks with my machine.  Load times are a little long, agreed.

Originally, the game set my graphics to trilinear...but it kept locking up.  So after futzing with the options, I put it to bilinear and it hasn't locked up yet.  So if you have any problems like that, go with bilinear...I can't see any sort of difference.
Logged

TheMissingLink on PSN
naednek
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4741



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2004, 10:52:42 AM »

I've been having stuttering problems with my game.  I changed teh audio from headphones to 4 speakers and helped a bit, but it's still there, just not as bad.  Otherwise the game runs great.
Logged
belfong
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 50



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2004, 12:05:13 PM »

No stuttering here.. P4 3.0, 1GB RAM, 6800 (non ultra) 128MB.
(Played at 1024x768)
Logged
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2004, 01:11:34 PM »

Y'all are lightweights.  I'm the truly low end so far.
Athlon 2100
512 PC2700
GF4 ti 4200 128 mb
Windows XP + Steam version

I'm running the game at the default settings for my system which are 800x600 and some of the bells on but not many.  I checked my framerate with Fraps and I average between 45-60 fps at all times.  Very solid.  No stuttering.  I could probably bump up the resolution to 1024x768 and may do so tonight.

That said, even at the settings I'm playing at, the game is graphically stunning.  I love the animations, the textures, the design.  I'm so pleased I got it.

And when I upgrade my system in a year or two I'll play the game maxed out.  This is the same pattern I had for the original HL: play it 1st on a low-end system and then upgrade and play it later with all bells and whistles.
Logged
Zekester
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2586



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2004, 02:08:30 PM »

Hmm, so the game still looks good on a ti4600?

I may just have to buy it now  :shock:
Logged

I am....Migaloo
Rest in Peace, Nan & Star
XBL Schins67
angrycoder
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 191


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2004, 03:07:33 PM »

AMD 2200+
1 gig ram
raedon 9800pro

Runs perfectly smooth at 1280 x960, 2x AA, 8x filtering, and all settings set to high except shadows (low) and water(medium).
Logged
ChrisGwinn
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 261


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2004, 03:22:39 PM »

be careful with "what I would consider moderate settings".  I have a suspicion that some of us are going to need to recalibrate our ideas of what "high" and "very high" mean.
Logged
Laner
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4698


Badassfully


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2004, 03:54:50 PM »

Athlon XP 2800+
1GB RAM
Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
1024x768, 2xA A, 8x Ani

Runs great - I'll probably crank up the resolution tonight and see how it does.
Logged
Clanwolfer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1422


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2004, 04:16:03 PM »

P4 1.8 gigahertz
1 gig RAM
Radeon 9600 Pro AIW

I have it on High, 1024x768, and it runs mostly smooth, with ever so occasional of a stutter, not enough to bother me in the least.  I may turn down detail if things bog down too much, but considering I've had multiple explosions, vehicles, and characters onscreen at once in massively open areas while the engine is doing AI and physics calculations... if this game CAN throw any more at my computer, I'd love to see it.   :shock:
Logged

jonsauce
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 236


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2004, 04:27:10 PM »

I'm pretty sure it doesn't like my Raedon 9700.  It crashed the first time I tried to load it so I updated my drivers.  This time the game started and I got sound, but the graphics were FUBAR.  There were just long streaks across my screne.  Hopefully I can get this worked out so I can play a bit smile
Logged

Now Playing
--------------
NHL 09
NFL Head Coach 09
Red Faction Guerilla
Rockband 2
Clanwolfer
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1422


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2004, 04:34:12 PM »

jonsauce, try the beta ATI Catalyst 4.12 drivers.  From what I heard from my friends who play CS, they're pretty much built ground-up to kick ass at the Source engine.
Logged

Freezer-TPF-
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1372


First in war and peace, second in the NL East.


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2004, 04:40:08 PM »

Anyone running this with a 6800GT?  If so, what version video drivers are you using?  Any stuttering or image quality problems?  I have a 6800GT on its way to me, so I want to be ready.
Logged

Signature on file at the county clerk's office.
jessie
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 225


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2004, 05:12:34 PM »

im running a leadtek 6800gt and i've had no isssues other than what i stated above about load times.
Logged

http://www.grandtheftblogger.com


XBOX Live! Gamer Tag: jessthelaw
naednek
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4741



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 16, 2004, 05:24:53 PM »

I got my sound problems solved.  Just change the texture detail to medium, and it went away
Logged
PaulBot
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1769


View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: November 16, 2004, 07:10:04 PM »

My system:

2.4G PIV
512M RAM
ATI 9700 Pro

I left the game at the recommended settings except I dialed up the resolution to 1600x1200 and I get occasional stuttering. I tried moving a couple of the settings up beyond the recommended ones for my system just to see what the graphics would look like and it didn't seem any different to me so I turned them back down.

I'm going to try a lower resolution tonight when I can play again to see if the occasional stuttering goes away.

Load times suck and I don't think it's my system since I've heard that from many people.

I just got off Newegg where I ordered the parts to put together a new system. In a week or so I'll have:
3.6G PIV
1G RAM
Nvidia 6600 GT

That ought to do nicely for that 1600x1200 setting I crave!!

EDIT: all my stuff from Newegg is due on my doorstep by 4:30pm Friday!!!
Logged

CEO of the GT Post Padders Club
ChrisGwinn
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 261


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2004, 12:14:01 AM »

I have a P4 @ 3 GHz, GeForce 6800 and a gig of RAM.  It autoset my options to 1024X768, 4X AA (I think), 8X AF, all options high except reflections.  No problems, except a brief stutter when autosaving.
Logged
Rowdy
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 727


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2004, 12:35:02 AM »

Anyone else using Catalyst 4.11 with the control center?  I'm getting severe texture corruption all over the place, seems to get worse as I bump up the resolution or AA/AF.  I'm running an overclocked 9600 Pro, should be able to run 1024x768 from what I gather, but even at 800x600 I'm getting texture corruptions and artifacts.  Not having problems in any other games, so don't think the card is having a problem... plus I've had it at a stable overclock for almost 4 months now.

Even stranger!  Just went into my display properties to see what the OC was set at, and when I click advanced, the pc reboots!  Did it 3 times.  Any ideas?  Wasn't having any problems with 4.9 earlier today before I upgraded, at Steam's urging.
Logged
Falator
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 222


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 17, 2004, 01:55:38 AM »

Bah this thread sucks. Now i need to upgrade my computer  :?
Logged
Chesspieceface
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 140


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: November 17, 2004, 02:11:01 AM »

p4 2.4
1GB PC1066 RDRAM
GF 5900 (non-ultra) BIOS Flashed to 5950 Ultra

Playing at 1024x768 All settings on High, Simple Reflections and NO AA or AF.

Game runs great, very smooth.  I get the occaisonal audio/video stutter but I stubbornly refuse to drop to Medium texture quality.  Other than that not a single issue.
Logged
Yossarian
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 135


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2004, 03:00:19 AM »

Quote from: "angrycoder"
AMD 2200+
1 gig ram
raedon 9800pro

Runs perfectly smooth at 1280 x960, 2x AA, 8x filtering, and all settings set to high except shadows (low) and water(medium).


just about the same settings as you, except I left shadows and water on default.  Athlon 64 3000, 1GB RAM, 9700 Pro.  it could be a touch smoother but I like the way it looks.
Logged

Now playing Star Trek Tactical Assault, Poker
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1099


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: November 17, 2004, 03:01:16 AM »

Athlon XP 2500 running at 3200
1GB Ram
9800 Pro (4.11 Catalyst)  The 4.12 Betas f-ed up Rainbox Six 3 for me.

Running at 1280x1024, 2x AA, 2 AF.  Everything high, water reflect world.

Only stutters briefly right after a new section load and new effect load.  Otherwise very smooth.
Logged
Gryndyl
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 908



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: November 17, 2004, 03:18:12 AM »

I'm getting pretty frequent sound stutters also. I've tried dropping textures and sound to medium which helped a little but didn't really solve it. Going to try dropping the resolution a notch next.
Logged

Twitter: Slush Pile Tweets
Amazon Author Pages: Horror, Humor
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: November 17, 2004, 03:44:27 AM »

P4 3Ghz
1GB DDR400 Dual Channel Ram
6800 GT

I get the very seldom stutter, and it's always at odd points when I'm not really doing anything. Strange. Hasn't happened once when I was actually fighitng or climbing. Just when I stop and then start walking again. I tried dropping the sound down a notch in quality, but It doesn't seem to help.

Otherwise it's more or less 50 to 60 fps in 1280x960 with 8XAF and no AA.

To me, once you pass 1152x865 I don't think there's any need in the least for AA. There's a small difference in visuals, but it's not worth the performance hit. I almost never use AA at all unless I"m playing something at 1024.
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
Vesper
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 95


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: November 17, 2004, 04:05:53 AM »

Athlon 64 3400+
1 GIG RAM
GeForce 6800 GT

Runs like buttah. biggrin

1280x1024, 4XAA, 8XAF, everything else maxed.  No problems at all.  I get a sound stutter when I quicksave, but that's it.

Back to shooting things!
Logged
disarm
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4192


my moral standing is lying down...


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: November 17, 2004, 07:23:42 AM »

P4-3.0gHz
1GB DDR400-Dual channel
9800 Pro-128mb

i'm running at 1280x1024 with all the settings maxed, no AA, and trilinear AF...looks great and runs smooth as silk.  i tried bumping up the AA/AF settings and can get by with a little before it starts to slow down, but the difference in the image isn't significant (unless you slow down and stand still long enough to look for the jaggies), so i just turned it back down and enjoy a nice FPS.  very impressive performance for such a great looking game.

only "complaint" is that i do get that sound stuttering occassionally...usually pretty soon after loading an area, then it goes away.  it's really minor and doesn't detract from such a great game though Cool
Logged

*Gamertag - disarm78*
Now Playing: Grand Theft Auto V
olaf
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 582


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: November 17, 2004, 08:46:34 AM »

Long load times.

Horrible sound stuttering.  Not constant, but it is consistent.  Starts from the very get go during the Gman's intro and keeps up after that.  Every 20-30secs or so, sometimes more frequently.  I have tried a lot on my end (changed sound quality, texture quality, AGP Aperture size, drivers, etc.), I believe it will take a code fix to resolve the problem

Other than that?  The engine looks great and runs better.

olaf
Logged
Ralph-Wiggum
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2643


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: November 17, 2004, 01:47:15 PM »

AMD 2400+
1 Gig Ram
9500 Pro

Game runs ok at 1024 x 768 on medium settings but still is a bit choppy at times. I would guess I'm getting between 20 - 30 fps. I just updated my Catalyst drivers last night, though, so I'll see later today if it runs better.
Logged
Nth Power
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3451



View Profile
« Reply #31 on: November 17, 2004, 10:25:46 PM »

I'm running :

p4 3.0
GeForce FX 5900
1G of RAM

at 1280 x 1024 with 4xAA. It runs smooth with only occasional stutters like those previously mentioned.

Also, anyone having trouble with 5.1 sound?  

I've got a Logitech Z-680 hooked up through a coxial input but the centers and surrounds don't output sound.  Doom 3 worked fine, but so far for HL2 I've set the speaker config back to 2 speakers.
Logged

"Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities" -Voltaire
XBL gamertag: NthPowr
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: November 17, 2004, 11:19:36 PM »

Just wanted to pop in and say that adding cl_smooth 0 to my autoexec.cfg file fixed the occasional stutters. The only time the game does the stutter is directly after a loading time, which is apparantly common.
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: November 17, 2004, 11:23:36 PM »

Is there no bulit in benchmarking utility? I still havent had the chance to fire this up frown hopefully after my ESPN league game
Logged
spatzi
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: November 18, 2004, 12:12:32 AM »

Athlon 64 3500+ cpu
1 Gig corsair ram
ASUS AV8 MB
Sapphire Radeon x800xt


monitor?...wait for it....50 inch Panasonic LCD...over 5.1 sound system.

Picture me lying back on the couch last night, lights out, booting up the game for the first time with my wireless mouse. Hey, even I envy me.
 :shock:
Bought this system last week specifically for this game. Everything on max settings, and 'v sync' on. Runs smooth as silk at 1280x1024, Frame rates in the range of 100-300 (using fraps) with vsync off.

Yes, some stuttering occasionally when entering new scenes. 20-30 second load times. Who needs to watch movies when there are games like this out there? Holy crap! I just walk around in a daze admiring textures and faces! If this is the future...bring it on!
Logged
RaptorRed
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 99


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: November 18, 2004, 04:43:41 PM »

I have a custom made AMD Athlon XP 1800+ with an Nvidia Gforce 3 Ti 200 and 1.23 gig of ram and I am playing at 1600x1200 with everything turned to max but with antialysing turned off and it runs perfect, Fast, smooth, no mouse delays, and no sound problems.

I think I have the lowest system here, so I don't understand why the rest of you with your high powered machines are having problems. Unless its some type of hardware conflict.

I started off at 800x600 based on this thread, and then just started bumping up to see what effect it would have and finally quit at the above configuration.

I really wish all games would run this well. I wasn't quite as lucky with Doom 3, but it was still very playable but at much lower res.
Logged

I'm not as good as I once was, but I'm as good once as I ever was.
FlyingElvis
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 164


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: November 18, 2004, 04:51:39 PM »

Quote from: "Clanwolfer"
jonsauce, try the beta ATI Catalyst 4.12 drivers.  From what I heard from my friends who play CS, they're pretty much built ground-up to kick ass at the Source engine.
Thanks for the heads up on the driver update.

AMD64 3200+
1 gig DDR400
9800 Pro

All high settings, 2xAA, 8xAF, 1152 is smooth. If I bump it up to 1280, I stutter which gives me motion sickness. Hopefully the driver update will allow me to run at 1280.
Logged

Now playing: Oblivion, X3: The Reunion
Programmer
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: November 18, 2004, 08:38:21 PM »

The game runs surprisingly well on my rig, and I've read similar stories from others with equally ancient hardware.

Athlon XP 1700
512MB DDR333
Geforce4 ti4200 (overclocked to ti4400 speeds)
Soundblaster Live

1024x768, no FSAA, trilinear filtering, high shadows, and medium settings everywhere else. Rarely drops below 30fps. I'd say it runs about as well as Far Cry, and better than Doom3.

I had audio stutter until I turned down the audio settings from high to medium. Still sounds great.

I'm so happy with the performance on my 2-year old rig, I think I might tempt fate and bump the resolution up to 1152x864 tonight Smile

Source is one kick-ass engine.

P.S. First post! Yay for me!
Logged
Floyd Walker
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 29


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: November 19, 2004, 02:57:18 PM »

My specs are similar to Programmer's -
WIN98SE
AMD XP1700+
512MB
ATI 9500PRO w/ Cat 4.7
SB PCI512 soundcard

Smooth as silk (with a very minor hiccup after it says "loading") at default settings, except w/ sound quality set to "medium".

I must of had a bad install the first time, because I had many bad/wrong textures & missing sounds. Just got it fixed by deleting all local content (through the Steam control panel) and allowing it to reload from their servers. BTW - mine's the retail (5 CD) version.
I'm VERY pleased with the performance & quality now biggrin
Logged
Rob_Merritt
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 925


View Profile WWW
« Reply #39 on: November 19, 2004, 03:46:06 PM »

Win XP
AMD 64 3200+
1 gig o ram
ATI x800 pro with 256 megs
CL Audigy2 sound card


settings: 1280x1024 (lcd) 4xAA, 16xAF. Everything set to high, reflect all, vsncy on.  Sound turned to medium to avoid popping. Runs very well but then again, everything else runs well on my rig so no surprises.
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.223 seconds with 104 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.103s, 2q)