http://gamingtrend.com
July 24, 2014, 08:08:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: General 360 Questions  (Read 3526 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Devil
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7742



View Profile
« on: November 23, 2005, 02:14:17 PM »

Figured I'd start a thread for general questions so we can keep 'em in one place:

1) Can you copy music from a connected PC to your 360 HD? If not how can you get music on there for playlists? Do you have to rip CDs right from the unit to the HD?

2) Can you recharge your controller battery pack while the unit is off?
Logged

XBox Gamertag: Devil13Devil
Wii Number: 0305 6568 6417 2609
PS3 Thing: Slived
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2005, 02:33:37 PM »

PGR3 offers two ways but if you have a PC with Windows Media Center you should be able to interface with the Xbox 360.

PGR3 offers streaming media via any USB personal audio device, or you can rip CDs to the hard drive.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
ChaoZ
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 608


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2005, 03:15:10 PM »

Does it play Divx/Xvid out of the box?
Logged
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2005, 04:32:50 PM »

Not sure about that
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Starshifter
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2183


CINEMAGIC on XM!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2005, 04:37:13 PM »

I found out last night that the Creative Labs Zen Micro DOES NOT work with the X360!  The X360 won't even recognize an attached device when I plug it into the USB ports.

It is listed as being supported by Xbox360.com, but it doesn't work and apparently others are having the same problem with all Creative Labs MP3 players.  

I've searched and searched and can't find an answer.  This was the only disappointment for me last night.
Logged

CINEMAGIC - Escape into the Movies!
XM Channel 76
Soulchilde
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5082


You and I have unfinished business


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2005, 04:48:12 PM »

Quote from: "Devil"
Figured I'd start a thread for general questions so we can keep 'em in one place:

1) Can you copy music from a connected PC to your 360 HD? If not how can you get music on there for playlists? Do you have to rip CDs right from the unit to the HD?


I believe with the Media extension for XP you can.  Hetz can probably confirm this.   You can rip from you CD to HD or stream from a outside media device.  I have done both

Quote
2) Can you recharge your controller battery pack while the unit is off?


I believe the unit has to be on for the play and charge kit to actualkly work.  I could be wrong as I don't have it myself
Logged

Quote from: Devil on January 12, 2007, 01:14:38 AM

NiM$
farley2k
Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3158



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2005, 05:09:10 PM »

Quote from: "ChaoZ"
Does it play Divx/Xvid out of the box?


No.  At least that is what I have gotten from the Gamers With Jobs podcast.
Logged

mytocles
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4901



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2005, 05:13:34 PM »

I don't have a Play and Charge, I figured I'd use NiMH rechargeables... but then when I looked at the tiny paper packed inside the battery compartment of my cordless ontroller - it said to use alkaline batteries only.

Being me (cautious?  "chicken"?), now I'm afraid to use the NiMH's... anyone know for certain what the deal is?

Good thread, Devil!  :twisted:
Logged

Mytocles (MY-toe-cleez)

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!"
- I don't remember who said it, and probably neither do they...
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15899


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2005, 05:19:05 PM »

Quote from: "tru1cy"
Quote
2) Can you recharge your controller battery pack while the unit is off?

I believe the unit has to be on for the play and charge kit to actualkly work.  I could be wrong as I don't have it myself

From my understanding, yes, the console needs to be turned on for the Play and Charge kit to work. However, you can put the console into sorta of a 'sleep' mode by quickly pushing the giant power button on the front. The fan stays on, and it'll recharge the controller, but otherwise the unit is off.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2005, 06:27:56 PM »

I have the play-and-charge kit and it works great. I charged both battery packs with it. It comes with a battery pack.

It only took about 3 to 4 hours to fully charge which they recommend for the first use.

It also works the way Destructor described, that is how I charged mine.
Be careful not to turn the unit on with it plugged in however, because it had an issue locking the controller in. I tried it twice and it did the same thing twice.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 23, 2005, 06:29:08 PM »

Quote from: "DamageInc"
I have the play-and-charge kit and it works great. I charged both battery packs with it. It comes with a battery pack.

It only took about 3 to 4 hours to fully charge which they recommend for the first use.


the system had to be on during this time tho?
Logged
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 23, 2005, 06:32:02 PM »

No it was in sleep mode, just turn off the system while the play-and-charge kit is plugged in and the unit stays on enough to charge the unit.
You will hear the fan running and the red light will be lit
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
crumsteel
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 360


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 23, 2005, 06:32:22 PM »

Anybody tried a keyboard and mouse yet? If they work, do they work good with the games, especially with the fps games.
Logged
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 23, 2005, 06:39:46 PM »

Quote from: "crumsteel"
Anybody tried a keyboard and mouse yet? If they work, do they work good with the games, especially with the fps games.

I didn't think the 360 allowed the use of KB/mouse for games?
Logged
Loomi
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 163


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 23, 2005, 06:40:06 PM »

We were using a wireless keyboard yesterday for typing in XBL account information.  It worked like a champ.  Didn't try it with any games though.
Logged

XBL Gamertag: Loomi 360
Soulchilde
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5082


You and I have unfinished business


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2005, 06:58:51 PM »

You can use a mouse and KB, but MS willnot allow them for games for obvious reasons
Logged

Quote from: Devil on January 12, 2007, 01:14:38 AM

NiM$
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2005, 10:02:07 PM »

Quote from: "Loomi"
We were using a wireless keyboard yesterday for typing in XBL account information.  It worked like a champ.  Didn't try it with any games though.


That has serious MMO implications....me likey.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Crawley
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1664


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2005, 11:42:53 PM »

My two general questions:

1) Is it noisy? (i.e. are the fans loud enough to hear or whiney)

2) I haven't been following the other touted features of the 360 that much but I seem to recall reading it could allow you to record/playback television shows. If so how does that work?
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2005, 11:48:49 PM »

Quote from: "Crawley"
My two general questions:

1) Is it noisy? (i.e. are the fans loud enough to hear or whiney)

2) I haven't been following the other touted features of the 360 that much but I seem to recall reading it could allow you to record/playback television shows. If so how does that work?


1.) It is about the loudness of a CDROM imho.

2.) YOu can record / playback television shows ONLY when paired with a XP Media Center PC.  You would record it on the PC and then stream it to the 360.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
msduncan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2991


Roll Tide!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2005, 12:48:08 AM »

Can you hook any wireless network adaptor into the back of it (like linksys, or whatever) and connect to the internet, or do you have to buy the M$ brand?
Logged
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4071


View Profile WWW
« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2005, 01:19:08 AM »

Quote from: "msduncan"
Can you hook any wireless network adaptor into the back of it (like linksys, or whatever) and connect to the internet, or do you have to buy the M$ brand?


If you are limited to the Microsoft one (as I suspect you are), you can probably just use a wireless adapter like these.  A lot of people seem to use them for the Xbox/PS2 without issue.  From my understanding you just run your ethernet cable from the 360 to the adapter and then it's wireless.  Granted, the Microsoft one is smaller and looks much better, but it comes with a price.
Logged

Xbox Live Gamertag: cstiffler
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #21 on: November 24, 2005, 02:34:42 AM »

Quote from: "msduncan"
Can you hook any wireless network adaptor into the back of it (like linksys, or whatever) and connect to the internet, or do you have to buy the M$ brand?


I hooked up a 802.11b Linksys WET11 Access Point to it and it works just fine.  That said, to use Media Center you need a 802.11g...
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: November 24, 2005, 02:38:29 AM »

Ok, I used the play and charge kit with my controller.  The light went green on the kit.  I removed the connector, turned off my XB360, but the "X" on the controller is still lit, at the 3 position.... any ideas?
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 24, 2005, 03:00:18 AM »

Quote from: "Devil"


1) Can you copy music from a connected PC to your 360 HD? If not how can you get music on there for playlists? Do you have to rip CDs right from the unit to the HD?


Didn't see this one answered so I'll chip in.  Using the Media Center extender you can copy mp3's, pictures and videos from your XP/Media Center PC to the 360 HD.  I think you can also directly rip CD's to the HD.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #24 on: November 24, 2005, 03:56:37 AM »

Quote from: "Arkon"
Ok, I used the play and charge kit with my controller.  The light went green on the kit.  I removed the connector, turned off my XB360, but the "X" on the controller is still lit, at the 3 position.... any ideas?


Is the red light lit too?  I turned off the system and my red light shows that it is charging.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Bullwinkle
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15482


Watch me pull a rabbit outta my hat.


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2005, 04:09:38 AM »

Has anyone tried copying saves from the original Xbox using Mega X-Key or somesuch and transfering them via PC?
Logged

That's like blaming owls because I suck at making analogies.
Devil
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7742



View Profile
« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2005, 02:05:53 PM »

Quote
Didn't see this one answered so I'll chip in. Using the Media Center extender you can copy mp3's, pictures and videos from your XP/Media Center PC to the 360 HD.


What is the "Media Center Extender"? I can connect and play my mp3s and pictures on my 360, but not move them to the HD for playlists.
Do I need a Media Center PC and not just XP with 'media connect' installed?
Logged

XBox Gamertag: Devil13Devil
Wii Number: 0305 6568 6417 2609
PS3 Thing: Slived
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: November 24, 2005, 02:42:24 PM »

I am pretty sure you have to have Windows Media Center OS.

Ron is playing around with this, and will have some concrete info very shortly.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: November 24, 2005, 05:28:59 PM »

Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
Quote from: "Arkon"
Ok, I used the play and charge kit with my controller.  The light went green on the kit.  I removed the connector, turned off my XB360, but the "X" on the controller is still lit, at the 3 position.... any ideas?


Is the red light lit too?  I turned off the system and my red light shows that it is charging.


The play and charge light went green, so I disconnected it.  However now the "3" position on the "X" button stays dimly lit after turning off the system and controller.
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: November 24, 2005, 06:28:31 PM »

More on Media Connect:

Quote
With Xbox 360, you can:
Connect to a computer running Windows Media Center and:
Listen to your music collection
View pictures
Watch live TV
Pause and replay live TV
Record TV shows then watch them later
Watch Videos
Download and watch movies
Buy music online
 
Connect to a computer running Windows XP Service Pack 2 and:
Listen to your music collection
View pictures  
 


With Media Center you get more options than XP.  Sorry, I thought both versions had the same option  :oops:
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: November 24, 2005, 06:59:35 PM »

Arkon try unplugging the battery pack from the unit
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18512


Thirty. Minutes.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: November 24, 2005, 08:29:20 PM »

Quote from: "Bullwinkle"
Has anyone tried copying saves from the original Xbox using Mega X-Key or somesuch and transfering them via PC?

It didn't recognize my MegaXKey.

Oh, it's still for sale.
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18512


Thirty. Minutes.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #32 on: November 24, 2005, 08:30:56 PM »

Quote from: "Arkon"
Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
Quote from: "Arkon"
Ok, I used the play and charge kit with my controller.  The light went green on the kit.  I removed the connector, turned off my XB360, but the "X" on the controller is still lit, at the 3 position.... any ideas?


Is the red light lit too?  I turned off the system and my red light shows that it is charging.


The play and charge light went green, so I disconnected it.  However now the "3" position on the "X" button stays dimly lit after turning off the system and controller.


try holding down the X key and chose to turn off the controller. Then turn the system off with the power button.

I still haven't used my power button yet. It's a wierd feeling.
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: November 24, 2005, 11:34:09 PM »

Have tried everything, removing the battery pack, turning off just the controller, and every time the light stays dimly lit.  It is just odd to say the least.
Logged
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: November 25, 2005, 01:12:38 AM »

If you remove the battery pack and it stays lit that is really strange.
How would it stay lit without a power source?

If it is staying lit it may be a damaged controller.
I would call Xbox support and see what they think at that point.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: November 25, 2005, 01:36:54 AM »

Quote from: "DamageInc"
If you remove the battery pack and it stays lit that is really strange.
How would it stay lit without a power source?

If it is staying lit it may be a damaged controller.
I would call Xbox support and see what they think at that point.


Sorry let me rephrase... it lights back up once I put the battery pack back in, after a few seconds the light comes back on.  Now I had read somewhere that with the play and charge kit you would be able to tell how much battery charge you had... perhaps this is the indicator for that?
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15899


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: November 25, 2005, 02:12:07 AM »

Quote from: "Arkon"
Sorry let me rephrase... it lights back up once I put the battery pack back in, after a few seconds the light comes back on.  Now I had read somewhere that with the play and charge kit you would be able to tell how much battery charge you had... perhaps this is the indicator for that?

The power indicator is at the upper left corner of the dashboard that pops up when you push the X button. It's on the same row as the time, just in the very left corner (right above your player picture).

As for your problem though, I'm not sure. Very weird. Try putting in the batteries that came with the controller and fiddle around with that and see what happens.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Bullwinkle
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15482


Watch me pull a rabbit outta my hat.


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: November 25, 2005, 07:08:11 AM »

Quote
It didn't recognize my MegaXKey.


But the Mega X-Key works with the PC, right?  And the wired 360 controller also connects to the PC, right?  Has anyone tried transfering via PC?
Logged

That's like blaming owls because I suck at making analogies.
Lockdown
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5587


LD


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: November 25, 2005, 12:51:36 PM »

New Question - And don't you DARE laugh at my lameness here.

I have an HDtv that does all those fancy mode things (480p, 720p, 1080i).

When I go into my System Blade on the xbox360 and have to choose a resolution or whatever, it gives me the choices of all three.  Do I want to choose 720p because thats what the games run in, or do I want to choose 1080i because that is the highest setting?  

I don't really get it.

Thanks from the idiot farm.   :?
Logged

LD

"Let your enemies fear, for a harlequin of the Laughing God dances at your side."
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: November 25, 2005, 01:08:54 PM »

I would choose 720p over 1080i if the game supports 720p

720p = deeper richer graphics since it is a one pass system for drawing the image

1080i = higher resolution, but will lack the richness of 720p. 1080i has to make two sweeps to paint an image each time.

p= progressive scan
i = interlaced scan
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.192 seconds with 104 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.067s, 2q)