http://gamingtrend.com
December 20, 2014, 05:12:02 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Gamespy inflates Donkey Konga 2 review?  (Read 1241 times)
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: May 13, 2005, 05:06:43 PM »

Reading this (link) makes my head spin.  Apparently Gamespy took the review down.  Here's the quote:
I’ve never done this before, and I probably shouldn’t be doing it now, but I want to take the opportunity to completely disown the GameSpy Donkey Konga 2 review in its published form. It grew an extra star and a half (or another 30% on the gamerankings scale) from its submitted version, along with several laudatory phrases that I didn’t write and certainly don’t mean. I hated the game. It’s not a 3/5.

Wow.  And ugh.  Wough.
Tebunker

Ask How, Ask Now, Ask me

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2005, 05:13:25 PM »

this is nothing new, not usually to this extent, but reviews get changed by all the major publications ALL the Time. It's a shame they couldn't let his own words stand, but that's why there are editors, they maintain the stability of their own website and/or magazine, and ultimately decide what's said, how it's said and what the final score should be...

"I hate cynicism -- it's my least favorite quality and it doesn't lead anywhere. Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard and you're kind amazing things will happen." - Conan O'Brien
Andrew Mallon

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2005, 05:14:10 PM »

Editors edit reviews all the time. It's their job, especially if they feel the reviewer isn't giving the game a fair shake. As a freelancer this guy should be professional enough not to run to the Internet just because an editor changed a line of his precious text.