http://gamingtrend.com
April 25, 2014, 04:05:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: flight sim question  (Read 1072 times)
Vinda-Lou
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile
« on: December 18, 2004, 08:40:16 PM »

What's the best, available-in-stores, flight sim? I just got a new joystick (do we still call them that?) and wanted to pick up a new game. I'd prefer WWII, but am open to almost anything with guns. A good manual would be a plus, as I am pretty new to this genre. Thanks for your help.
Valael
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2004, 10:02:59 PM »

IL2: Sturmovik  (Pacific Fighters is the latest version of it, Forgotten Battles is the second)

Definitely the best of the WW2 flight sims I've played.  The manual isn't so hot, though.  So I'd suggest spending some time on the forums, they usually have links to good sites.

The difficulty is also very scalable, so you can play it as an arcade shooter, a full on realistic sim, or somewhere between.

If I added a sig, would you read it?
Vinda-Lou

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2004, 12:45:13 AM »

Thanks for the info.  I'll look into those.  Something that can evolve from arcade to sim sounds excellent.
onnel
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2004, 03:49:23 PM »

IL 2 is simply stunning, very well supported and has a great community.  

Throughly recommended.

I'd say start with IL2:FB (Forgotten Battles( and the AEP Expansion (I think you can get them together in a gold pack) or go for Pacific Fighters, if you'remore interested in that theatre.

Best,
Onnel
skystride

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2004, 06:40:59 PM »

Lock On is a very good modern combat sim.  Graphics are incredible.  It is not very beginner friendly however.
Fuzzballx

View Profile