http://gamingtrend.com
August 01, 2014, 02:41:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dumb bf2 question...  (Read 2033 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2582


View Profile
« on: July 07, 2005, 05:57:45 AM »

What`s up with ranking up. I ranked up, but what is really the benefit? I`ve had the game since day one, but at first the ranked servers sucked for me(laggy), and then the browser annoyed me with it`s crazy behavior. But, now that the patch is out, and the issues(for me) are resolved...It`s a great game. I see the unlockables, but I haven`t unlocked anything. Anyone want to explain how all of this works to a dumb guy like me :wink: . Thanks.
Logged
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11271


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2005, 12:51:16 PM »

Besides unlocking weapons, higher rank also gives priority for becoming commander for a round.
Logged
Bulletpig
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 591


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2005, 03:55:38 PM »

Another dumb question that I can't figure out.

In the controls section for land vehicles there is something called "Boost" and the default is Left Shift.

I know this works for normal controls to sprint.  But what is this boost that is listed in land vehicles and what does it do.

I tested it and didn't see anything while driving any vehicle?

Pig
Logged
Eco-Logic
Gaming Trend Member
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2886


Gamertag: St0ckBroker


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2005, 04:09:39 PM »

Quote from: "Bulletpig"
Another dumb question that I can't figure out.

In the controls section for land vehicles there is something called "Boost" and the default is Left Shift.

I know this works for normal controls to sprint.  But what is this boost that is listed in land vehicles and what does it do.

I tested it and didn't see anything while driving any vehicle?

Pig


I also wonder this.  Doesn't seem to work for me.
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21051



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2005, 04:15:25 PM »

Its a feature for the expansion pack, just put in a bit too early.  Kinda like the drop down to select your option for game type.  Would you like "Conquest" or "Conquest"?
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
dandylife
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2005, 04:28:08 PM »

Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
Its a feature for the expansion pack, just put in a bit too early.  Kinda like the drop down to select your option for game type.  Would you like "Conquest" or "Conquest"?


Where'd you hear this?  I wouldn't be inclined to intuit that the "boost" binding is there for expansions.  More likely, it was a feature dropped before the game was released.
Logged

U2K Tha Greate$t on the New Orleans flooding: "The issues that happen in NO, is well you aint blind, you know how satan do things, not only that, but did you ever think why the water couldnt go now where?"
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21051



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2005, 04:30:41 PM »

I am yanking your chain.  I'm big on the sarcasm thing. slywink
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Dreamshadow
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3037


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2005, 04:35:18 PM »

Quote from: "Bulletpig"
Another dumb question that I can't figure out.

In the controls section for land vehicles there is something called "Boost" and the default is Left Shift.

I know this works for normal controls to sprint.  But what is this boost that is listed in land vehicles and what does it do.

I tested it and didn't see anything while driving any vehicle?

Pig


I know in the aircraft, Boost triggers the afterburner.  Beyond that...Maybe they have plans to put the Mach 5 in the game in some future expansion?
Logged

Tom "Dreamshadow" Tjarks
Aunt Wu: Care to hear your fortune, handsome?
Iroh: At my age there is really only one big surprise left, and I'd just as soon leave it a mystery.
dandylife
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 111


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2005, 04:52:05 PM »

Quote from: "Knightshade Dragon"
I am yanking your chain.  I'm big on the sarcasm thing. slywink


Oh, Ok smile  Hard to tell these things online when you don't know a poster well, especially without emoticons.
Logged

U2K Tha Greate$t on the New Orleans flooding: "The issues that happen in NO, is well you aint blind, you know how satan do things, not only that, but did you ever think why the water couldnt go now where?"
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21051



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2005, 05:02:12 PM »

Quote
Maybe they have plans to put the Mach 5 in the game in some future expansion?

BEHOLD!  Further Smart-assery!

Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Eco-Logic
Gaming Trend Member
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2886


Gamertag: St0ckBroker


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2005, 05:45:41 PM »

You mean to tell me your buggy doesn't do this when you press boost?




See the Video Here!
Logged
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2582


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2005, 06:14:43 PM »

How many times do you need to rank up to unlock weapons?
Logged
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4126



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2005, 06:18:54 PM »

Quote from: "Harpua3"
How many times do you need to rank up to unlock weapons?


2nd promotion is your first unlock, then most promotions after that give unlocks, though they are MUCH harder/more time consuming to get.
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21051



View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2005, 07:16:09 PM »

When do I get the damned unlock sniper rifle?!  M90 I think?
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Harkonis
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9669



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2005, 08:11:20 PM »

M95, is the sniper unlock

1000 global points is first unlock, 9000+ is second, 23000+ is third
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21051



View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2005, 08:41:40 PM »

You won't find me without a sniper rifle for a while then...I must have that gun.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Harkonis
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9669



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2005, 08:43:41 PM »

you don't have to get the points using the kit you want.  you can choose any kit to unlock regardless of how you got the points.
Logged
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2582


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2005, 02:50:06 AM »

Ahhh, thank you. I am off to play.
Logged
Bulletpig
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 591


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2005, 08:58:52 PM »

Okay I have been promoted to Lance Corp but can't figure where it is that I can unlock a weapon?

Pig
Logged
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4126



View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2005, 01:55:19 AM »

Quote from: "Bulletpig"
Okay I have been promoted to Lance Corp but can't figure where it is that I can unlock a weapon?

Pig


Next time you start the gamne it should prompt you to choose an unlock. it actually took a day or so before the game recognized my promotion Tongue
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Atragon
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 427


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2005, 02:19:34 AM »

Broken link frown
Logged

"We do what we must because we can."
X-Box Live: TragicNut
Doomboy
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 320


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2005, 06:20:11 PM »

I have a dumb question.  Is in-game voice chat working?  I push the talk to sqaud button, but I never get a responce from anyone, and my squad leader (usually Ascendant) never seems able to send my a voice command either...

We can chat just fine with Teamspeak on, but it would be nice to be able to communicate with members of our squad who don't have teamspeak, or don't know the IP of my TS server...
Logged

When there's no more room in hell, Jack Thompson will walk the earth.
Hrothgar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1528


Do you Talk Strategy?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2005, 07:14:23 PM »

Isn't voice a server option?  In other words, it only works if the server has voice chat turned on.
Logged

Cheers,
Hrothgar
Live gamertag & PSN name: HrothgarGG
I'm updating my website again.

"No, not alone."  -- War, Darksiders
Doomboy
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 320


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2005, 10:38:09 PM »

I think the server we use has it turned on.  The headphone icon is there, anyway.

The headphones seem to work in the options screen, where they are set up, it is just once in game, no voice seems to work.

I don't know, maybe Harkonis doesn't have it working on his server...
Logged

When there's no more room in hell, Jack Thompson will walk the earth.
Harkonis
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9669



View Profile
« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2005, 02:06:45 AM »

Some people have it disabled and can't hear it, but the server has it enabled.   There also seems to be a bug that will keep it from working.  Try restarting.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.14 seconds with 73 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.044s, 2q)