http://gamingtrend.com
July 23, 2014, 01:34:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dual Shock 2 shoulder buttons.  (Read 814 times)
Kyosho
Gaming Trend Reader

View Profile
« on: August 20, 2006, 11:56:12 PM »

I'm actually completely new to the PS2 system in general as I'm a PC gamer. I'm in the process of building a portable PS2, and I need to relocate the shoulder buttons of the Dual Shock 2 controller. So I've got some questions. I'm talking about only the shoulder buttons in this case.

1. Are the shoulder buttons analog (pressure sensitive), like the face buttons?

2. If so, do many games make use of the analog functionality of the shoulder buttons?

3. Could you name a few popular games that make use of it?

The reason I ask, is because it'd be much easier to relocate them without retaining their analog ability. But if it's important, I will do the extra work involved to keep them analog.

I was going to post this on OO, but I realize that things are a bit more Console related here, so...
stiffler
Gaming Trend Senior Member

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2006, 12:27:23 AM »

I found this on the CompUSA product page for the DS2 controller, and it says "Based on manufacturer's information:"

"With the exception of the "start" and "select" buttons, all the functions of the "Dual Shock"2 are analog, making for a wider variety of user operations and a more compelling interactive experience. The "Dual Shock"2 is also backward compatible with all PlayStation software supporting the original "Dual Shock" analog controller."