http://gamingtrend.com
September 20, 2014, 06:46:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Damn you, Gary Grigsby! (World at War)  (Read 2001 times)
Wolves
Gaming Trend Reader

DAMMIT!!!

View Profile WWW
« on: January 16, 2007, 06:16:58 AM »

I don't play too many pc games these days, but I bought Gary Grigsby's World at War about a year ago (or whenever it came out), played it a bit and never really got into it. (think of Axis and Allies, but more complicated)

I'll save you the boring story of how this came about, but I started playing it again and I started to make a bit of progress, then last night at 10:30 pm, armed with a little better understanding of the game and a few strategies I dove into 1939...this time, my plans were a little more thought out. As much as I wanted to be British, I used Germany because...well, it's fun to be an agressor. I was surviving alot longer....and was even at the gates of Moscow at one point....until I noticed Japan was even closer to kicking the bucket so I had to divert resources to them and as I did Russia regained alot of strength....the power struggle kept shifting back and forth....I plunged almost all of my research points into every option of Dive bombers and Armour and then slated my factories to produce almost nothing except these things....It was now Summer '44 and and all Allied invasion attempts and temporary landings had been repelled. I was really glad that things were finally going (mostly) right, I wasn't exactly sure what time it was, but I knew it was late, so I went for a quick shower and came back and played some more.