http://gamingtrend.com
July 24, 2014, 08:55:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: [PC] Civilization 5: !#@#!@ Impressions Incoming! Brave New World!  (Read 21678 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Sarkus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2593


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: May 06, 2010, 07:34:37 PM »

It's not Steam exclusive in terms of where you can buy it, so in that sense the new thread title is misleading.  They simply announced today that the game will use Steam, similar to Rome: Total War and other recent titles that you could buy in any number of other places.

Logged

Roger: And you should know, I have no genitals.
Syndey: That's alright.  I have both.

- American Dad
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: May 06, 2010, 07:35:32 PM »

I've done the argument to death many times now.  Suffice to say, Steam falls under my personal definition of malware and thus it will never be installed on my PC.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: May 06, 2010, 07:37:06 PM »

Sarkus, you do have a point.  However if you have to install Steam (or any incarnation thereof) to be able to install the game, you may as well call it Steam exclusive.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: May 06, 2010, 07:48:29 PM »

Quote from: KePoW on May 06, 2010, 07:31:20 PM

Huw/Arkon, how exactly does Steam suck?

For me one of the biggest reasons I dislike steam is that it requires the client to be running and is a pain in the ass to get games working if I am not online.  I have a DSL connection that can be flakey at times.  Give me impulse any day of the week so I can install, authorize/authenticate the game once and then never run Impulse again unless I have a desire to have it running.
Logged
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #44 on: May 06, 2010, 07:52:09 PM »

Yeah, I'll buy games on Impulse no problem.  My only concern with Impulse (and this is also one of my many concerns with Steam) is that the pricing is ridiculous.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
jersoc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4812


View Profile
« Reply #45 on: May 06, 2010, 08:09:08 PM »

Quote from: Huw the Poo on May 06, 2010, 07:35:32 PM

I've done the argument to death many times now.  Suffice to say, Steam falls under my personal definition of malware and thus it will never be installed on my PC.

lol what? so any program you use to download and store games is malware now? gtfo with this stupidity.

impulse and steam are the same thing. you're just being ridiculous now.


Quote
and is a pain in the ass to get games working if I am not online

yeah, damn you for having to goto menu and selecting offline mode. FUCK THAT IS HARD!!! i mean, why can't steam just use my brain waves and detect this automatically. VALVE FUCKING SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THREEE@@@@)(
Logged
Sarkus
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2593


View Profile
« Reply #46 on: May 06, 2010, 08:16:36 PM »

Yeah, I've never ever had any problems getting Steam titles to run when offline.  When all is said and done the game files are installed on your computer, so even if Steam disappeared some day or your internet went away it's not like you don't have the game files. 
Logged

Roger: And you should know, I have no genitals.
Syndey: That's alright.  I have both.

- American Dad
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8271


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #47 on: May 06, 2010, 08:24:56 PM »

Quote from: jersoc on May 06, 2010, 08:09:08 PM

Quote from: Huw the Poo on May 06, 2010, 07:35:32 PM

I've done the argument to death many times now.  Suffice to say, Steam falls under my personal definition of malware and thus it will never be installed on my PC.

lol what? so any program you use to download and store games is malware now? gtfo with this stupidity.

impulse and steam are the same thing. you're just being ridiculous now.


Quote
and is a pain in the ass to get games working if I am not online

yeah, damn you for having to goto menu and selecting offline mode. FUCK THAT IS HARD!!! i mean, why can't steam just use my brain waves and detect this automatically. VALVE FUCKING SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THREEE@@@@)(

Are you insane?
Logged

A new one
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #48 on: May 06, 2010, 08:28:41 PM »

Is that a rhetorical question?
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Huw the Poo
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3162


Please feed dog


View Profile
« Reply #49 on: May 06, 2010, 08:29:26 PM »

Fuck off Jersoc.  I already said I didn't want to get into an argument.  Someone asked for my opinion and I gave it.  I didn't ask you to fucking agree with it, did I?  Dickhead.
Logged

Resident anti-Steam troll
Steam profile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #50 on: May 06, 2010, 08:46:50 PM »

Any chance we can keep this thread Civilized?
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
KePoW
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1877


View Profile
« Reply #51 on: May 06, 2010, 10:46:07 PM »

Quote from: jersoc on May 06, 2010, 08:09:08 PM

yeah, damn you for having to goto menu and selecting offline mode. FUCK THAT IS HARD!!!

LOL

Usually I don't really like jersoc or his personality... but the above line seriously cracked me up.
Logged
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #52 on: May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM »

Perhaps newer versions of steam are better, but last year I purchased a bunch of older titles off of steam during a sale.  If I was not online when launching a game, steam would hang for 10-15 minutes trying to connect and I could not cancel out of it. 

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

I also get crap download speeds from steam, usually topping out at 150k/sec, yet Impulse over the same connection pulls stuff down at roughly 320k/sec

In the end, I much prefer a service like Impulse that doesn't require it's own client be running to run the games I purchased.
Logged
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8271


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #53 on: May 07, 2010, 06:24:26 AM »

Yeah, steam is a bitch if you'r not online at times, although newer versions are better of course.

Anyways - what I think is an issue here,  is that modding may be severely hampered by it being connected to Steam. Especially since it seems that Babylon is for pre-orders only, then there are files to protect.

I guess we'll have to wait and see, but I know that a lot of people, for instance like Brad Wardell are very disappointed in this move, both because it probably stops modding effectively, but of course it also gives steam a competetive edge with an exclusive none other can/will  sell.

Edit: Nevermind that - my fears have been put to rest :-)

Quote
Steam is integral to the entire Civ V experience and is going to help bolster the community rather than detract from it. Both single player and multiplayer modes will benefit from it as well as getting updates and mods that work well with the game. I know that right now there isn't a ton of examples of how Steamworks is going to help you guys out, but honestly this decision was made with guys like you in mind. You are our core audience and the last thing we'd want to do is detract from your community experience.
From 2K elizabeth, the forum/pr rep at 2K
« Last Edit: May 07, 2010, 06:28:28 AM by Razgon » Logged

A new one
TiLT
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 6314


Preaching to the choir


View Profile WWW
« Reply #54 on: May 07, 2010, 06:31:31 AM »

Don't forget that the game being integrated with Steamworks probably means your saves will be on the Steam Cloud and you'll get achievements. smile
Logged
MonkeyFinger
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3227



View Profile
« Reply #55 on: May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM »

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.
Logged

-craig

PSx: MonkeyFinger
XBx: MonkeyPhinger
Arkon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6073


View Profile
« Reply #56 on: May 07, 2010, 01:38:44 PM »

Quote from: MonkeyFinger on May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.

Thanks MonkeyFinger, next time I decide to play a steam game I will check for this.
Logged
Blackadar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3458



View Profile
« Reply #57 on: May 07, 2010, 01:58:08 PM »

Quote from: Razgon on May 07, 2010, 06:24:26 AM

Yeah, steam is a bitch if you'r not online at times, although newer versions are better of course.

I played offline for almost 3 months with zero problems while cooped up in a hotel room in Durango, CO. 
Logged

Raise the bridge! I have an erection!
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #58 on: May 07, 2010, 02:13:05 PM »

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:38:44 PM

Quote from: MonkeyFinger on May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.

Thanks MonkeyFinger, next time I decide to play a steam game I will check for this.

also under settings is an option to switch which Steam server you're using inc case you're getting bad speeds.  every now and then I'll switch mine to one that seems to be going faster; right now I'm stealing bandwidth from Canada  icon_wink
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Razgon
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8271


The Truth is out there


View Profile
« Reply #59 on: May 07, 2010, 02:26:29 PM »

Quote from: Blackadar on May 07, 2010, 01:58:08 PM

Quote from: Razgon on May 07, 2010, 06:24:26 AM

Yeah, steam is a bitch if you'r not online at times, although newer versions are better of course.

I played offline for almost 3 months with zero problems while cooped up in a hotel room in Durango, CO. 

Hiding from the law again? ;-)
Logged

A new one
Freezer-TPF-
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1372


First in war and peace, second in the NL East.


View Profile
« Reply #60 on: May 07, 2010, 02:47:27 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on May 07, 2010, 02:13:05 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:38:44 PM

Quote from: MonkeyFinger on May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.

Thanks MonkeyFinger, next time I decide to play a steam game I will check for this.

also under settings is an option to switch which Steam server you're using inc case you're getting bad speeds.  every now and then I'll switch mine to one that seems to be going faster; right now I'm stealing bandwidth from Canada  icon_wink

There's also a setting for your speed/type of connection, which could possibly affect your DL speeds but I don't know for sure.
Logged

Signature on file at the county clerk's office.
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #61 on: May 07, 2010, 02:49:16 PM »

Quote from: Freezer-TPF- on May 07, 2010, 02:47:27 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on May 07, 2010, 02:13:05 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:38:44 PM

Quote from: MonkeyFinger on May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.

Thanks MonkeyFinger, next time I decide to play a steam game I will check for this.

also under settings is an option to switch which Steam server you're using inc case you're getting bad speeds.  every now and then I'll switch mine to one that seems to be going faster; right now I'm stealing bandwidth from Canada  icon_wink

There's also a setting for your speed/type of connection, which could possibly affect your DL speeds but I don't know for sure.

I think that just helps the program estimate the download time that pops up when you select a game to download.  mine was on the lowest one for quite some time but I was still getting 1.5mbps regularly.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Victoria Raverna
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1089


Auspiciousness, prosperity, and good fortune


View Profile
« Reply #62 on: May 07, 2010, 03:54:58 PM »

Quote from: MonkeyFinger on May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.

Last time I checked (several years ago back not long after HL2 release back when I didn't have a permanent broadband connection) this feature didn't help you play Steam games when there were new updates. If you disable it, it'll not auto download new patches, but you'll still have to download the new update before you can play.

Not sure if they changed this feature or it is still working like that.
Logged
MonkeyFinger
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3227



View Profile
« Reply #63 on: May 08, 2010, 01:27:48 AM »

Quote from: Victoria Raverna on May 07, 2010, 03:54:58 PM

Quote from: MonkeyFinger on May 07, 2010, 12:39:37 PM

Quote from: Arkon on May 07, 2010, 01:54:40 AM

I also had instances where my version of a game wasn't the most recent and Steam kept insisting that the game had to update before I could play it, yet I had no internet connection at the time to complete the update.

Just as an FYI, there is an option in each game's properties 'Updates' tab that defaults to 'Always keep this game up to date'. I'm assuming that switching it to 'Do not automatically update this game' would fix this for you.

Last time I checked (several years ago back not long after HL2 release back when I didn't have a permanent broadband connection) this feature didn't help you play Steam games when there were new updates. If you disable it, it'll not auto download new patches, but you'll still have to download the new update before you can play.

Not sure if they changed this feature or it is still working like that.

That would make sense as an issue for multiplayer games.
Logged

-craig

PSx: MonkeyFinger
XBx: MonkeyPhinger
Exodor
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 480


View Profile
« Reply #64 on: May 08, 2010, 04:14:32 PM »

Quote from: Razgon on May 07, 2010, 06:24:26 AM

Anyways - what I think is an issue here,  is that modding may be severely hampered by it being connected to Steam. Especially since it seems that Babylon is for pre-orders only, then there are files to protect.

How? Why?

When I bought a new laptop a few months back I realized I couldn't find one of my original Civ4 discs so I re-bought the complete package on Steam.  I've played many offline sessions of Civ4 FFH2 on that laptop.

Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #65 on: June 11, 2010, 04:56:46 AM »

more hex pics!
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
EddieA
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 6864


View Profile
« Reply #66 on: June 11, 2010, 05:53:30 AM »

Not to rain on anyone's parade, but I'm having a hard time getting excited about this game.  The graphics are just so incredibly bland and lifeless, and the units look worse than Civ 4.  I just hope it plays a lot better than it looks.
Logged

"Why did the chicken cross the Mobius strip?  To get to the same side."  - The Big Bang Theory
TiLT
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 6314


Preaching to the choir


View Profile WWW
« Reply #67 on: June 11, 2010, 06:34:51 AM »

I think the blandness you're talking about comes from the missing GUI in these screenshots. It's hard to judge the overall graphical style without everything in place.
Logged
Blackadar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3458



View Profile
« Reply #68 on: June 11, 2010, 04:26:51 PM »

Quote from: TiLT on June 11, 2010, 06:34:51 AM

I think the blandness you're talking about comes from the missing GUI in these screenshots. It's hard to judge the overall graphical style without everything in place.

Not to mention that I don't play Civ for the graphics...
Logged

Raise the bridge! I have an erection!
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #69 on: June 11, 2010, 05:03:01 PM »

they have a release date:  September 21st.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
marcusjm
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 787


View Profile
« Reply #70 on: June 11, 2010, 05:12:21 PM »

I personally think it looks far far better than Civ4, I am so glad they decided to leave the kiddie style graphics for good. Hopefully this will reflect other remakes as well (if ever get a new Covert Action or RRT). The unit graphics are light years ahead of Civ4 already, let's see what mods can do.
Logged

Dedicated Gamer - XBL Profile DreamsurferSWE
XFire tag - dreamsurfer
EddieA
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 6864


View Profile
« Reply #71 on: June 15, 2010, 06:55:23 PM »

Gamespot has a new preview of the game from E3, and some screenshots showing off the interface.  It definitely looks better with the interface in place.
Logged

"Why did the chicken cross the Mobius strip?  To get to the same side."  - The Big Bang Theory
Blackadar
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3458



View Profile
« Reply #72 on: June 15, 2010, 07:34:26 PM »

Quote from: EddieA on June 15, 2010, 06:55:23 PM

Gamespot has a new preview of the game from E3, and some screenshots showing off the interface.  It definitely looks better with the interface in place.

*drool*
Logged

Raise the bridge! I have an erection!
Asharak
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 493

Elitist Ash-hole


View Profile
« Reply #73 on: June 15, 2010, 11:30:13 PM »

Yeah, I'm really liking that UI look.

- Ash
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #74 on: June 16, 2010, 03:24:31 PM »

more screenshots.  

as for the preview:  wow, the game looks boring in motion.

* CeeKay ducks.

 Tongue
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #75 on: June 22, 2010, 04:15:02 PM »

Civ Anon returns*




* thanks to PR_GMR for pointing this out.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
raydude
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Online Online

Posts: 1506


SPICE! Nomnomnomnom


View Profile
« Reply #76 on: June 22, 2010, 04:28:42 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on June 16, 2010, 03:24:31 PM

more screenshots.  

as for the preview:  wow, the game looks boring in motion.

* CeeKay ducks.

 Tongue
If you mean it looks a little slow, you're right. And that's a good thing.  icon_biggrin
Logged

A Pew Research Center poll found nearly half of Americans hold the false belief that TARP was passed under President Obama, while only 34 percent know it originated under Bush.
"Oh yeah?" Bush replied. "50% of the people were wrong."
Hrnac
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 87



View Profile
« Reply #77 on: June 23, 2010, 03:42:54 AM »

Quote from: CeeKay on June 22, 2010, 04:15:02 PM

Civ Anon returns*




* thanks to PR_GMR for pointing this out.

That was awesome!

-Hrnac
Logged

Never do today what can be done tomorrow.
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #78 on: June 25, 2010, 04:14:40 PM »

eventually you'll be able to import Civ 4 content into Civ 5.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #79 on: July 09, 2010, 02:16:37 PM »

special edition details.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 11   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.149 seconds with 103 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.037s, 2q)