http://gamingtrend.com
December 18, 2014, 09:44:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can anyone answer this? Resolution related.  (Read 1159 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


View Profile
« on: February 15, 2005, 04:46:15 AM »

I have a 3.0 ghz p4, 1024mb ddr, 6800gt 256mb, sb audigy2, etc. I`ve always ran 1024x768x32bit@85hz(sp?) , well not always but recently with this setup. I use some fsaa etc. But I always want to run higher resolution, but I like to have the same res/refresh rate for games and desktop etc. Here`s the question, what`s a resolution that popular and most if not all games support it? That`s why I stick with this. Every single game I`ve played in the last 5 years support this res. If i don`t stick with the same res, I have to always re-center the image on the monitor, and I`m lazy :wink: . And obviously I don`t wan to go to high, cuz then when something comes out more taxing...I`ll have to readjust everything. I know that a wierd request/question...but nevertheless does anyone have any ideas/answers? Thanks.
Logged
zinckiwi
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 310


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2005, 09:50:03 AM »

Well, the next step up is 1280x1024. The problem with that is that it's a 5:4 ratio, not a 4:3, so some things can look "squished". The 4:3 version, 1280x960, isn't quite as ubiquitous (though most/all modern, resolution-independent games should support it).

Edit to say: unless you have a really, really old monitor, the settings should be remembered for a given resolution/refresh combo. So you'll have to center the first time you run (say) 1280x960 @ 75hz -- but any game configured to use those same settings shouldn't need any adjustment.
Logged
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2005, 10:12:31 AM »

No it`s not not really old about 3 or 4 years old tops. It`s a sony trinitron. Hmm, I didn`t think it did. Thanks for the info ,I`ll look into it.
Logged
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4127



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2005, 02:13:42 PM »

Quote from: "zinckiwi"
Well, the next step up is 1280x1024. The problem with that is that it's a 5:4 ratio, not a 4:3, so some things can look "squished". The 4:3 version, 1280x960, isn't quite as ubiquitous (though most/all modern, resolution-independent games should support it).

actualyl in recent years I've seen quite the opposite, 1280x960 is often a choice and 1280x1024 is not. Historically I've always gone with 1280x1024 but in the last couple of years have often been forced to 960... I solved by upgrading my system and monitor and playing at 1600x1200 slywink
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2005, 03:48:36 AM »

What hardware are you running to be able to run everything @ that high res?
Logged
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4127



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2005, 04:08:57 AM »

Quote from: "Harpua3"
What hardware are you running to be able to run everything @ that high res?


256MB GF6800 GT
3.4GHz HT Intel
2GB DDR RAM
2x74GB Raptor SATA HDD

basically the same system as you...
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2005, 04:17:56 AM »

Your saying with my setup I can get away with that high in most games if not all? Does 2gb of memory make the difference? There`s not  much difference between the processors.
Logged
Gorath
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 24


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2005, 06:17:03 AM »

You can probably get playable frame rates @1600*1200*32 in all games except Doom 3, etc. . Your CPU and RAM are "only" good enough but your graphics card is insanely fast.

As posted before, every halfway decent monitor automatically stores the user´s adjustments for every resolution, so maybe you should simply tweak every game when you start it the next time and adjust your monitor. Then the problem solves itself in a few days.
Just make sure your graphics driver uses the desired frequencye when it switches to a higher resolution. If you´re stuck at 60Hz you should override the setting and go for 85Hz or 100Hz, depending on your monitor of course. How much kHz does it have, btw?
Logged

Now playing:
The Moment of Silence
Harpua3
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2767


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2005, 07:47:44 AM »

I was gonna look at that. I always run 85 but it goes alot higher at certain resolutions. Up to 120 or so I think on some.
Logged
Greggy_D
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1099


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2005, 04:18:29 PM »

I also always use 85.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.1 seconds with 43 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.034s, 2q)