http://gamingtrend.com
September 18, 2014, 06:08:16 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bioshock Min/Recommended Requirements  (Read 2928 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21056



View Profile WWW
« on: July 16, 2007, 01:46:50 PM »

Thought I'd share what I found. smile


Operating Systems:

    * Windows XP (with Service Pack 2) or
    * Windows Vista

Minimum System Requirements:

    * CPU: Pentium 4 2.4GHz Single Core processor
    * System RAM: 1GB
    * Video Card: Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 128MB RAM (NVIDIA 6600 or better/ATI X1300 or better, excluding ATI X1550).
    * Sound Card: 100 direct X 9.0c compatible sound card
    * Hard disc space: 8GB free space

Recommended System Requirements:

    * CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo processor
    * System RAM: 2GB
    * Video card:
          o DX9: Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 512MB RAM (NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT or better)
          o DX10: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 or better
    * Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi series (Optimized for use with Creative Labs EAX ADVANCED HD 4.0 or EAX ADVANCED HD 5.0 compatible sound cards)
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Ralph-Wiggum
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2613


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2007, 01:57:52 PM »

Well, I meet the recommended requirements other than the video card. Hopefully that means it will run fairly smoothly. If not, 360 here I come!
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15936


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2007, 02:23:58 PM »

Short of the Creative Labs bullshit, I'm covered as far as the recommended specs go. I'm set!
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2007, 02:39:31 PM »

Quote from: Destructor on July 16, 2007, 02:23:58 PM

Short of the Creative Labs bullshit, I'm covered as far as the recommended specs go. I'm set!

+1.  All set to see how it runs with DX10.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Ralph-Wiggum
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2613


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2007, 03:30:42 PM »

Quote from: Destructor on July 16, 2007, 02:23:58 PM

Short of the Creative Labs bullshit, I'm covered as far as the recommended specs go. I'm set!

Oh yeah, I guess I'm missing that, too. I didn't even consider that part as real.  icon_biggrin
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2007, 03:38:08 PM »

No issues for my PC-now to see if I double dip and get it for PC too smile
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21056



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2007, 03:48:33 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on July 16, 2007, 02:39:31 PM

Quote from: Destructor on July 16, 2007, 02:23:58 PM

Short of the Creative Labs bullshit, I'm covered as far as the recommended specs go. I'm set!

+1.  All set to see how it runs with DX10.

The demo that I saw was DX9 and looked absolutely phenominal and smooth.  Either way you are covered.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Chaz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5212



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2007, 04:15:56 PM »

My computer's so old.  This just confirms that I'll be getting the 360 version. 

One of these days I should think about an upgrade.
Logged

jimmyorr99
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 958


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2007, 08:04:09 PM »

I believe all the demos have been in DX9 IIRC. They also all look pretty amazing, so I can't imagine how much it's going to beef up on DX10.  eek
Logged

if you strike me down, i will become more powerful than you can ever imagine.
ROTC1983
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4414


Is it really that Kampfy?


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2007, 08:06:20 PM »

Quote from: jimmyorr99 on July 17, 2007, 08:04:09 PM

I believe all the demos have been in DX9 IIRC. They also all look pretty amazing, so I can't imagine how much it's going to beef up on DX10.  eek


I am curious as to how bad the performance hit will be with DX10 though.  The drivers are slowly improving for CoH (I forgot where I read this) and it seems that the performance is slowly rising.
Logged

CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2007, 12:37:34 AM »

Quote from: ROTC1983 on July 17, 2007, 08:06:20 PM

Quote from: jimmyorr99 on July 17, 2007, 08:04:09 PM

I believe all the demos have been in DX9 IIRC. They also all look pretty amazing, so I can't imagine how much it's going to beef up on DX10.  eek


I am curious as to how bad the performance hit will be with DX10 though.  The drivers are slowly improving for CoH (I forgot where I read this) and it seems that the performance is slowly rising.

I'll be sure to give impressions of it once it comes out.  The Lost Planet demo w/ DX10 was pretty nice, or would have been if Capcom's 'system detection' software didn't keep telling me my system shouldn't be running things as smoothly as they were running.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
kronovan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7920



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2007, 12:43:26 AM »

Unfortunately my systems spec's falls somewhere between the minimum and recommended and I don't plan to upgrade soon. Hell...I could probably buy a 360 for what it would cost me to upgrade my PC to the recommended spec.
Quite honestly, if this game is as good as System Shock 2 I'll gladly turn the settings down to minimum to play it.  slywink
Logged
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9364



View Profile WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2007, 12:58:53 AM »

Everything except my video card makes the recommended.  Unfortunately, that means I won't be able to run it on all high detail at my LCD's native resolution of 1690x1050.

My current video card is still returnable and I'm thinking of doing so, and just buying the 8800.
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2007, 01:38:19 AM »

Bioshock PC rocks the 360 version

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/805/805791p1.html
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
disarm
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4182


my moral standing is lying down...


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2007, 01:49:05 AM »

Quote from: Daehawk on July 18, 2007, 01:38:19 AM

Bioshock PC rocks the 360 version

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/805/805791p1.html

if only the guy actually provided some comments with substance to back up the attention-grabbing headline...
Logged

*Gamertag - disarm78*
Now Playing: Grand Theft Auto V
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2007, 03:56:20 AM »

Quote from: disarm on July 18, 2007, 01:49:05 AM

Quote from: Daehawk on July 18, 2007, 01:38:19 AM

Bioshock PC rocks the 360 version

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/805/805791p1.html

if only the guy actually provided some comments with substance to back up the attention-grabbing headline...

actually isn't it a foregone conclusion that a high end PC will beat out the 360?

The whole internet activation deal better not be an issue though.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9364



View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2007, 04:04:14 AM »

They'd better be ready for the absolutely massive number of activations there'll be on the day on release.

However, I have to agree with their decision to require activation.  First of all, it's a single player only PC game.  Those get pirated like crazy since there's no multiplayer CD key and gameplay to play.

Secondly, while those net activation schemes can and will be cracked, they prevent casual piracy in the first few days, maybe weeks of the game's release.  That's enough time to capture sales that would have been pirated copies.

Lastly, this is a very high profile game, it's going to be pirated like mad and we all know it.

If they can keep the process simple, it should be okay.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2007, 04:35:31 AM by Turtle » Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: July 18, 2007, 04:21:51 AM »

What happens 10 years from now when I want to play it again and that company is gone? How will I get it to run then?
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2007, 04:28:34 AM »

Quote from: Daehawk on July 18, 2007, 04:21:51 AM

What happens 10 years from now when I want to play it again and that company is gone? How will I get it to run then?

i'm sure the activation deal will be cracked shortly after it's released.....
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15936


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #19 on: July 18, 2007, 01:14:53 PM »

Quote from: Turtle on July 18, 2007, 04:04:14 AM

Secondly, while those net activation schemes can and will be cracked, they prevent casual piracy in the first few days, maybe weeks of the game's release.  That's enough time to capture sales that would have been pirated copies.

Huh? You sure don't know your pirate groups. 99% of all games (and a large percentage of programs, even big titles like Vista) that require some sort of activation (or CD keys or CD checks or anything) get cracked within hours at worst. They consider it a 'game' to crack everything and release it before the other groups can.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
jimmyorr99
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 958


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: July 18, 2007, 01:19:55 PM »

Quote from: CeeKay on July 18, 2007, 03:56:20 AM

Quote from: disarm on July 18, 2007, 01:49:05 AM

Quote from: Daehawk on July 18, 2007, 01:38:19 AM

Bioshock PC rocks the 360 version

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/805/805791p1.html

if only the guy actually provided some comments with substance to back up the attention-grabbing headline...

actually isn't it a foregone conclusion that a high end PC will beat out the 360?

The whole internet activation deal better not be an issue though.
I don't think this internet activation is going to be an issue at all. I mean, this is pretty basic, I remember doing it for HL2 when it came out. And this time around we don't have to install Steam to clutter up the system. Tongue I'm not really worried.
Logged

if you strike me down, i will become more powerful than you can ever imagine.
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: July 18, 2007, 01:26:39 PM »

Quote from: jimmyorr99 on July 18, 2007, 01:19:55 PM

Quote from: CeeKay on July 18, 2007, 03:56:20 AM

Quote from: disarm on July 18, 2007, 01:49:05 AM

Quote from: Daehawk on July 18, 2007, 01:38:19 AM

Bioshock PC rocks the 360 version

http://ve3d.ign.com/articles/805/805791p1.html

if only the guy actually provided some comments with substance to back up the attention-grabbing headline...

actually isn't it a foregone conclusion that a high end PC will beat out the 360?

The whole internet activation deal better not be an issue though.
I don't think this internet activation is going to be an issue at all. I mean, this is pretty basic, I remember doing it for HL2 when it came out. And this time around we don't have to install Steam to clutter up the system. Tongue I'm not really worried.

I am not worried at all either-first, I like Steam, think its a great app-and the activation of HL2 was flawless for me-and I am quite sure that 2K has tried to learn from that to make sure there isn't a clustereff to win them bad pub.

Anyhoo, I am just not sure what version to get. I am 100% sure I will replay the game at least once-which means I will play it on both eventually-just not sure which one to own first. Oh wlel, I have 5 weeks left smile
Logged
Atragon
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 427


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2007, 01:21:44 AM »

Oh yeah, I meet recommended except that my CPU is a massively overclocked dual core Opteron, and I don't have a CL soundcard. (I somewhat refuse to buy their products after what they did to Aureal).
Logged

"We do what we must because we can."
X-Box Live: TragicNut
Purge
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 18537



View Profile WWW
« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2007, 12:46:28 PM »

Quote from: Atragon on July 19, 2007, 01:21:44 AM

Oh yeah, I meet recommended except that my CPU is a massively overclocked dual core Opteron, and I don't have a CL soundcard. (I somewhat refuse to buy their products after what they did to Aureal).

+1. (although Aureal helped themselves in crashing too; embezzling etc).
Logged

"If it weren't for Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of television, we'd still be eating frozen radio dinners." - Johnny Carson
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2007, 01:17:31 PM »

Meh, I am using onboard sound and so far am happy with it. I refuse to spend hundreds of dollars on an XFi card that will likely continue the shitty driver problems that has plagued Creative for so long.
Logged
Destructor
Special Project Group
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15936


▲▲▼▼◄►◄►B A Start


View Profile WWW
« Reply #25 on: July 19, 2007, 01:41:05 PM »

Quote from: Calvin on July 19, 2007, 01:17:31 PM

Meh, I am using onboard sound and so far am happy with it. I refuse to spend hundreds of dollars on an XFi card that will likely continue the shitty driver problems that has plagued Creative for so long.

Exactly the same exact reasons on my end. Of course, the card I decided to buy in replacement (Turtle Beach) has no Vista support last time I checked. Thankfully there's a runaround driver for my onboard card (as Vista had nothing that 'officially' worked when I upgraded), as otherwise I'd be playing silent right now.
Logged

"All opinions posted are my own, and not those of my employers, who are appalled."
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21056



View Profile WWW
« Reply #26 on: July 19, 2007, 01:44:38 PM »

+1 to that Calvin.  No Creative for me ever again. 

As for Bioshock 360 being 'rocked' by the PC version, they say that it is equivalent to the DX9 stuff on the PC.  With what I saw being pushed with DX9, don't think that this is a slam on the game in any way.  It is amazing what they've wrung out of that API.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: July 19, 2007, 01:53:11 PM »

Quote from: Knightshade Dragon on July 19, 2007, 01:44:38 PM

+1 to that Calvin.  No Creative for me ever again. 

As for Bioshock 360 being 'rocked' by the PC version, they say that it is equivalent to the DX9 stuff on the PC.  With what I saw being pushed with DX9, don't think that this is a slam on the game in any way.  It is amazing what they've wrung out of that API.

Yeah I listened to their podcast yesterday and the PC GUI guys were talking about how great it looked in DX9 and how that was roughly equivalent to the 360 graphics with slightly lower rez, but hwo the game ran smooth with almost everything turned on with a 7800 card in one computer. I really want to play the PC version first, I just wish I had a bigger/better monitor.

Does anyone here know if some of the more decent 42in 1080p panels look ok running a game like this?
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: July 19, 2007, 02:28:33 PM »

Quote from: Calvin on July 19, 2007, 01:17:31 PM

Meh, I am using onboard sound and so far am happy with it. I refuse to spend hundreds of dollars on an XFi card that will likely continue the shitty driver problems that has plagued Creative for so long.

I went with onboard sound this time around to, but I don't recall ever having issues with my previous CL sound cards (mainly the Audigy series).
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9364



View Profile WWW
« Reply #29 on: July 19, 2007, 02:37:51 PM »

My new motherboard came with both AC97 sound and a newer chip that supported 8.1 sound.  I've had none of the problems associated with onboard sound and I'm very happy to remain with it.
Logged
Kevin Grey
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13976


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: July 19, 2007, 02:39:43 PM »

Quote from: Calvin on July 19, 2007, 01:53:11 PM

Does anyone here know if some of the more decent 42in 1080p panels look ok running a game like this?

Don't know about 1080p, but I've been playing a lot of PC games recently on my 46" 720p TV and they look great.  The only issue with playing a PC game on 1080p display is that you have to have a rig powerful enough to run the game at 1920x1080 if you want to play in native res. 
Logged
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: July 19, 2007, 02:41:22 PM »

Quote from: Kevin Grey on July 19, 2007, 02:39:43 PM

Quote from: Calvin on July 19, 2007, 01:53:11 PM

Does anyone here know if some of the more decent 42in 1080p panels look ok running a game like this?

Don't know about 1080p, but I've been playing a lot of PC games recently on my 46" 720p TV and they look great.  The only issue with playing a PC game on 1080p display is that you have to have a rig powerful enough to run the game at 1920x1080 if you want to play in native res. 

I should be ok for that Kevin-C2D6600, overclocked to 3.3, 8800GTS640 OCd, etc etc. I think the issue for me will be choosing a 1080p tv (I need to buy another tv when I move regardless) that won't funk up the text like many do. I am leaning towards a Samsung, but that is a topic for a different thread smile
Logged
Brinstil
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 94


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: July 20, 2007, 12:48:31 AM »

Damnhell, guess I need to upgrade. Things would be so much easier if devs would just learn to scale all games for exactly my pc specs. But they're too lazy and selfishninja
Logged

“The PS3 will instill discipline in our children and adults alike. Everyone will know discipline.”
Ragnarok
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 531



View Profile
« Reply #33 on: July 20, 2007, 02:16:26 AM »

Quote from: Brinstil on July 20, 2007, 12:48:31 AM

Damnhell, guess I need to upgrade. Things would be so much easier if devs would just learn to scale all games for exactly my pc specs. But they're too lazy and selfishninja

Agreed.

AMD dual core 4400
2GB ram
7800gtx video card
onbord sound(has always been good)

Hmm.. this is the farthest I've fallen behind in recommended specs in a while.  It should still run decently enough.  It has to, damnit!  An upgrade is a long way off.  icon_frown
« Last Edit: July 20, 2007, 02:19:38 AM by Ragnarok » Logged
Turtle
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 9364



View Profile WWW
« Reply #34 on: July 20, 2007, 02:34:38 AM »

Oh rats, I'm only at a 6000+ X2 and a x1950 video card, not too far from Ragnarok, guess I'll have to upgrade too...

 icon_twisted
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #35 on: July 20, 2007, 05:20:33 AM »

Quote from: Brinstil on July 20, 2007, 12:48:31 AM

Damnhell, guess I need to upgrade. Things would be so much easier if devs would just learn to scale all games for exactly my pc specs. But they're too lazy and selfishninja

I'd much rather have them make the games for my PC specs.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
ioticus
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 74



View Profile
« Reply #36 on: July 20, 2007, 06:21:44 PM »

I wonder how it will play on my system?

Athlon FX-53
2 gigs of ram
Geforce 7800 GS

I hope I can play on medium settings at 30-40 fps.
Logged
Thin_J
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3409


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: July 22, 2007, 11:44:12 PM »

Looks like I'm set across the board.

I'm not sure I'll even be buying this one though. Not my kind of shooter.
Logged

Xbox Live: Thin J
PSN: Thin_J
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: July 23, 2007, 12:44:40 PM »

Quote from: Thin_J on July 22, 2007, 11:44:12 PM

Looks like I'm set across the board.

I'm not sure I'll even be buying this one though. Not my kind of shooter.

Well, the fact that its about as far from the traditional "shooter" as they can get it probably doesn't help-and god bless them for that. I didn't play SS2 for the stellar gunplay.
Logged
jimmyorr99
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 958


View Profile
« Reply #39 on: July 23, 2007, 01:20:10 PM »

Yeah, I mean, it's an RPG/FPS blend really. Not a pure shooter, and that's one of it's strongest points.
Logged

if you strike me down, i will become more powerful than you can ever imagine.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.166 seconds with 103 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.055s, 2q)