http://gamingtrend.com
July 24, 2014, 02:41:49 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Battlefield 2 Demo  (Read 17505 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
gameoverman
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1422


View Profile
« Reply #80 on: June 11, 2005, 06:22:27 AM »

I can confirm that a GF4 ti 4200 64mb card will NOT play this demo.  frown
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #81 on: June 11, 2005, 06:40:09 AM »

Well I got the demo..it installed...but when I click it a black screens pops up then Im back at desktop. This has been THE crappiest demo release in years.

I was using an old vid driver because its the only one I could get soldiers Heroes of WW2 to work with so I installed the one that came with demo...it did'nt work either and now soldiers wont work again. HGFD^U%RE*&%E^R(

Im going to bed. hell with it.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
Bulletpig
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 591


View Profile
« Reply #82 on: June 11, 2005, 07:06:17 AM »

I just put in about 4 1/2 hours and man what fun.

I have a Geforce FX 5600 and the game is running fine.  I did go ahead and install the drivers that came with the demo so maybe that will help some people.

The best was getting into a squad, me and two others, we all used the VOIP and man we kicked ass.  I can't believe how much more fun it is when you can talk to your squad.

I can't wait for the game to come out with more maps.

Pig
Logged
Lockdown
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5587


LD


View Profile
« Reply #83 on: June 11, 2005, 11:12:07 AM »

Quote from: "warning"
Anybody else getting weird shadows in this game?  Everyone seems to have about 12 square feet of shadow under them and it's literally square shaped.

I have the latest drivers, 6600GT, 1 gig ram, XP3200.  Everything else runs smooth except I don't think it supports 1280x1024 so my LCD is getting no lovin...

If we set up a time tomorrow to play I'm in.


1.  I'm running an ATI 9800pro, and didn't notice the shadow thing.  Doesn't mean it wasn't there, just that I didn't see it.

2. My insanely awesome LCD is 1280x1024 native also, and the game still looks pretty good.   But I know what you mean, I HOPE beyond HOPE that the final release supports it.

3.  I have a friend in from out of town, so my time is hit-or-miss, but I would love to play some coordinated squad play.  The game is kick-ass fun.

LD
Logged

LD

"Let your enemies fear, for a harlequin of the Laughing God dances at your side."
mikeg
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2549


View Profile WWW
« Reply #84 on: June 11, 2005, 12:16:54 PM »

How does anyone get this demo?  I have tried every link I can find and they all say over 5 hours to download.  Forget that.
Logged

I am Xboxalot on Live.
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4121



View Profile WWW
« Reply #85 on: June 11, 2005, 12:30:18 PM »

Quote from: "mikeg"
How does anyone get this demo?  I have tried every link I can find and they all say over 5 hours to download.  Forget that.


It took me 3 hours last night with BitTorrent. Should be faster now with more complete cpoies out there I'd assume. (I've uploaded it 3+ times over so far Tongue)
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
mikeg
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2549


View Profile WWW
« Reply #86 on: June 11, 2005, 12:37:47 PM »

I'll just wait for the retail version.  I just can't stand long downloads in this day and age.  Didn't mind it back in my 14.4 surfing days, but not now.  

Have fun with it all.
Logged

I am Xboxalot on Live.
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11247


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #87 on: June 11, 2005, 01:25:03 PM »

Well I doubt the downloads are going to stay backed up for the whole two weeks up to release.  Just try downloading it tomorrow or Monday.
Logged
Crawley
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1664


View Profile
« Reply #88 on: June 11, 2005, 01:51:34 PM »

Quote from: "warning"
Anybody else getting weird shadows in this game?  Everyone seems to have about 12 square feet of shadow under them and it's literally square shaped..


I was seeing this too. Very odd pop-up of the shadows on the 6800 Ultra so just turned off the shadow effects and all was good. It looks like you can have the lighting effects on without shadows.
Logged
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #89 on: June 11, 2005, 02:24:10 PM »

http://www.consolegold.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=80978#80978

Don't forget! biggrin


CLEAR!! BZZZT...
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #90 on: June 11, 2005, 02:26:41 PM »

I was able to try out single player, but only at a max of 800X600 guess my ATi 9500 Pro ain't cutting it, going to get BFG 6800 GT today.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
warning
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7325



View Profile
« Reply #91 on: June 11, 2005, 02:50:13 PM »

Quote from: "Crawley"
Quote from: "warning"
Anybody else getting weird shadows in this game?  Everyone seems to have about 12 square feet of shadow under them and it's literally square shaped..


I was seeing this too. Very odd pop-up of the shadows on the 6800 Ultra so just turned off the shadow effects and all was good. It looks like you can have the lighting effects on without shadows.

Actually I had to install the Nvidia drivers that came with the demo.  I thought it was just going to install the latest drivers from Nvidia's site but actually these are even newer and still not available at the official download site.

Weird but it fixed it.
Logged
Ralph-Wiggum
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2600


View Profile
« Reply #92 on: June 11, 2005, 02:52:21 PM »

Quote from: "DamageInc"
I was able to try out single player, but only at a max of 800X600 guess my ATi 9500 Pro ain't cutting it, going to get BFG 6800 GT today.


I've got a 9500 Pro and was able to run the MP fine at 1024x768. What are your other specs?
Logged
Gwar21
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 210


View Profile
« Reply #93 on: June 11, 2005, 04:06:01 PM »

Quote from: "gameoverman"
I can confirm that a GF4 ti 4200 64mb card will NOT play this demo.  frown


Nor will a GF4 Ti 4600 with 128MB.   :?  I guess my PC's finally old enough that I'll have to start checking system requirements on games again.
Logged
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #94 on: June 11, 2005, 04:20:56 PM »

System Specs

P 4 2.6C HT
Giga-byte dual BIOS/dual circuit MOBO PAT 875 chipset
1 GB Kingston Hyper X 433 MHz Ram (OCd) running in dual channel mode
On-board sound
ATi 9500 Pro 128 MB 5.2 Cats (last supported version)
WinXP Pro SP2
7200 Seagate w/ 8 MB cache
ANTEC True Power 480 Watt PS
RaidMax aluminum case w/ 5 whisper cool ball bearing case fans

B2 recommended settings was everything on low and 800x600
Tried resetting to 1024 and the game relaunched in 800x600

I got a 10% off coupon for Best Buy in my email today so I figured it was an omen to go buy the BFG 6800 GT (wink, wink)

My system is fairly up to date other than the vid card and even ATi has stopped driver support for it.
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11247


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #95 on: June 11, 2005, 04:59:32 PM »

Quote from: "Crawley"
Quote from: "warning"
Anybody else getting weird shadows in this game?  Everyone seems to have about 12 square feet of shadow under them and it's literally square shaped..


I was seeing this too. Very odd pop-up of the shadows on the 6800 Ultra so just turned off the shadow effects and all was good. It looks like you can have the lighting effects on without shadows.

The nvidia drivers included with the demo fixed this problem for my 6800.
Logged
Sparhawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1834



View Profile
« Reply #96 on: June 11, 2005, 05:33:22 PM »

Anyone discover a way to make the demo work in 1360x768? I need some widescreen goodness. =)

I'm using a 6800 Ultra on a 32" Widescreen LCD display.
Logged

PSN: Kal_Torok
Xbox Live: Sparhawk GT
Calvin
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13895

President of G.R.O.S.S.


View Profile
« Reply #97 on: June 11, 2005, 07:03:39 PM »

repost from OO: All I have to say until I finish some more practice Con Law problems is:
BRILLIANT I got about 45 mins in last night and this from a guy who tried to like BF1942 on about 5 different occasions. THIS SHIT IS BRILLIANT.

Can't wait to play more later.
Logged
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12512



View Profile
« Reply #98 on: June 11, 2005, 07:25:42 PM »

I have a 6600 GT AGP, the readme only shows PCIe, does that mean my card is not supported?
Logged
Ralph-Wiggum
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2600


View Profile
« Reply #99 on: June 11, 2005, 08:12:01 PM »

Quote from: "DamageInc"
System Specs

P 4 2.6C HT
Giga-byte dual BIOS/dual circuit MOBO PAT 875 chipset
1 GB Kingston Hyper X 433 MHz Ram (OCd) running in dual channel mode
On-board sound
ATi 9500 Pro 128 MB 5.2 Cats (last supported version)
WinXP Pro SP2
7200 Seagate w/ 8 MB cache
ANTEC True Power 480 Watt PS
RaidMax aluminum case w/ 5 whisper cool ball bearing case fans

B2 recommended settings was everything on low and 800x600
Tried resetting to 1024 and the game relaunched in 800x600


Your specs are better than mine. The default was 800x600 for me, too. Apparently, you need to change the settings and then hit "apply" for them to save. Also, every time you create a new profile you'll need to change the settings again.
Logged
drifter
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1245


View Profile
« Reply #100 on: June 11, 2005, 08:16:24 PM »

I cannot find the CG server is it up?
Logged
Daehawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11755



View Profile
« Reply #101 on: June 11, 2005, 08:20:54 PM »

Quote from: "Gwar21"
Quote from: "gameoverman"
I can confirm that a GF4 ti 4200 64mb card will NOT play this demo.  frown


Nor will a GF4 Ti 4600 with 128MB.   :?  I guess my PC's finally old enough that I'll have to start checking system requirements on games again.


Guess they wont sell as many as they could. I cant play it  even.
Logged

---------------------------------------------------
I am Dyslexic of Borg, prepare to have your ass laminated.

Check my trader rating. Im 22+ and zero negs. Trade with me! smile
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #102 on: June 11, 2005, 08:33:26 PM »

I can't seem to figure out how to login to Ron's server.

Everytime I try to use my Gamepy acct it says it is already in use, and I tried 2 of em.

Can't figure out how to get to him.

Anyone have any ideas?
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
TheMissingLink
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6235


TML, for short.


View Profile
« Reply #103 on: June 11, 2005, 08:55:50 PM »

Quote from: "Gwar21"
Quote from: "gameoverman"
I can confirm that a GF4 ti 4200 64mb card will NOT play this demo.  frown


Nor will a GF4 Ti 4600 with 128MB.   :?  I guess my PC's finally old enough that I'll have to start checking system requirements on games again.


Damn.  I can't play it either then.

DamageInc, that's a weird problem...especially since you've tried two of them  :shock:  I have no idea on what's going on there.
Logged

TheMissingLink on PSN
RightBastard
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 528


View Profile
« Reply #104 on: June 11, 2005, 09:10:40 PM »

Problem getting onto the server here as well.  Get an error message saying "Check your network connections" or something like that. Tried another server and connected just fine.
Logged

I am amendable to criticism but only within the sphere of what I am trying to do.
Flannery O'Connor
wonderpug
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11247


hmm...


View Profile
« Reply #105 on: June 11, 2005, 09:19:17 PM »

Sorry if it's been mentioned already, but there's a server side fix out there to bypass the demo time limit.
Logged
Sparhawk
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1834



View Profile
« Reply #106 on: June 11, 2005, 09:26:49 PM »

ROck on, the 12 minute sessions are a bit too short for me. I prefer something around 15-20 minutes min and 30 minutes maximum.
Logged

PSN: Kal_Torok
Xbox Live: Sparhawk GT
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #107 on: June 11, 2005, 10:07:23 PM »

I was able to create a new email address and use that to login and I played some MP, but I cant seem to connect to Ron's server.

Is it still up?
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
leo8877
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 12512



View Profile
« Reply #108 on: June 11, 2005, 10:15:43 PM »

Big fan of 1942, Vietnam was no good, and this one so far is no good.

While there are some neat gameplay additions, the performance is SO bad, that I can't believe it.  1942 played like a dream when it came out.  This one is so sluggish and choppy that it's no fun.  Oh and it takes like 10 mins to load a game in the beginning...anyone else see that?

I have a decent system, too.  2.6G P4, 1 GB pc3200, 6600 GT AGP, and it just chops all over.  I don't know what they did, I can't even run it in anything higher than 1024x768.  My LCD native is 1280, so to top it all off, it doesn't look very nice either.

I can only hope that retail is MUCH different, or this is a pass.

EDIT: to add, I did install the drivers that came with it.  No diff, except for that blocky shadows issue.
Logged
Dreamshadow
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3037


View Profile WWW
« Reply #109 on: June 11, 2005, 10:21:11 PM »

Quote from: "DamageInc"
I was able to create a new email address and use that to login and I played some MP, but I cant seem to connect to Ron's server.

Is it still up?


Server won't be up until 6pm PST tonight.  I don't think he can host a dedicated.  I believe it's only when he is playing.
Logged

Tom "Dreamshadow" Tjarks
Aunt Wu: Care to hear your fortune, handsome?
Iroh: At my age there is really only one big surprise left, and I'd just as soon leave it a mystery.
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #110 on: June 11, 2005, 10:40:32 PM »

okay ty for letting me know
 Tongue
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #111 on: June 11, 2005, 11:39:48 PM »

Quote
I don't think he can host a dedicated.


Think again. smile  The server will be up shortly and it IS dedicated and running on a T1 kids.  Now, where is that server side patch for the timelimit fix?

Edit:  Server side fix for timelimits done, you fight until the tickets are gone folks...
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
mikeg
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2549


View Profile WWW
« Reply #112 on: June 11, 2005, 11:52:56 PM »

Wow, I hope it runs better than what I am hearing.  I am downloading now, but I have a mid-range system and from what I read here it won't be able to run it.  Looks like a pass for me cuz no upgrading this year for me.  Saving my money for 360.
Logged

I am Xboxalot on Live.
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4121



View Profile WWW
« Reply #113 on: June 12, 2005, 12:13:20 AM »

runs like a dream for me at 1600x1200 4xAA, twice ina  few hours of play I've had a few seconds where it seemed like I was lagging loading textures... not something I expect from my system, but not too bad
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
DamageInc
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2412


Starts with s and ends with litting their throats


View Profile
« Reply #114 on: June 12, 2005, 12:55:49 AM »

Is there a password?
I try loggin in through the BF client and it says cant connect

Is it a firewall issue?
Logged

The freaks come out at nine and it's twenty to ten
coopasonic
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4121



View Profile WWW
« Reply #115 on: June 12, 2005, 12:56:44 AM »

I don't beleive the server is up at the moment. *waits patiently* post in MP gaming says he will have it up at 6PST (5 minutes or so hehe)
Logged

It was this moment that took the movie from being a little ho-hum to “holy shit, did that shark just eat a plane!?”
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21047



View Profile WWW
« Reply #116 on: June 12, 2005, 12:59:19 AM »

Server is back up!  I'll be back later after a movie...have fun killing eachother.
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Chaz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 5212



View Profile
« Reply #117 on: June 12, 2005, 01:35:14 AM »

Cross posted from OO:


Okay, I give up. How in the world do I go about changing my player tag? It just shows up as my account name, and I can't see an option anywhere to change that.
Logged

Zitterbacke
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #118 on: June 12, 2005, 01:37:16 AM »

On an 2.8GHz P4 with GF6800 and 1GB Ram the small map played perfect on 1024*768 (All effects on high+4FSAA), the bigger map made me plug in another 512MB, which dropped my FSB to 333, but gameplay improved a lot. Had a blast with 2 friends on LAN+Internet.
Logged

BF2: BanthaPooDoh
RightBastard
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 528


View Profile
« Reply #119 on: June 12, 2005, 02:17:15 AM »

That is a crapload of fun.  Vehicles are insane but sweet.  Haven't had this much fun with a MP online game since Wolfenstein ET.

That's all for me today but see you all online next time!
Logged

I am amendable to criticism but only within the sphere of what I am trying to do.
Flannery O'Connor
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.129 seconds with 105 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.031s, 4q)