http://gamingtrend.com
November 27, 2014, 11:26:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 360 games in 1080p?  (Read 1521 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« on: November 25, 2006, 02:42:12 AM »

Just curious if anybody has been playing 360 games in 1080p.
Does the 360 upscale games to that resolution?
How do they look?
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
Hetz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4217


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2006, 03:43:10 AM »

The only game that supports 1080p for the 360 is Splinter Cell.
Logged

XBox Live: Hetz OO
PSN: Hetz76
Steam: hetz_gg
Kevin Grey
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13976


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2006, 04:10:24 AM »

Quote from: Hetz on November 25, 2006, 03:43:10 AM

The only game that supports 1080p for the 360 is Splinter Cell.

Are you referring to natively?  Because that was a rumor that was debunked shortly after it hit.  It might upscale though. 
Logged
CeeKay
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 71766


La-bibbida-bibba-dum! La-bibbida-bibba-do!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2006, 04:37:57 AM »

Quote from: Hetz on November 25, 2006, 03:43:10 AM

The only game that supports 1080p for the 360 is Splinter Cell.

Going through the back of the cases, Superman Returns is the only one I have (including Splinter Cell DA) that actually lists 1080p as an option.
Logged

Because I can,
also because I don't care what you want.
XBL: OriginalCeeKay
Wii U: CeeKay
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2006, 01:00:32 PM »

I figured the system would upscale. Some of the games only say 720p, but you can set your output as 1080i and still play them at hi-res (unlike on the PS3 which downscales).

Hetz, you've got a 1080p set, don't you?
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
Hetz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4217


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2006, 01:49:34 PM »

Quote from: Misguided on November 25, 2006, 01:00:32 PM

I figured the system would upscale. Some of the games only say 720p, but you can set your output as 1080i and still play them at hi-res (unlike on the PS3 which downscales).

Hetz, you've got a 1080p set, don't you?

Yes, I do....but my set (and 98% of the HDTV's out there) doesn't do native 1080p over component, only HDMI. My set does have a VGA input...but I'm not hooking my 360 up to that. I use that for other things.

Anyway, my set will take any signal and upconvert it to 1080p internally, so I don't need to set the 360 to output 1080p, since my set already does all the dirty work of upconverting.
Logged

XBox Live: Hetz OO
PSN: Hetz76
Steam: hetz_gg
Misguided
Gaming Trend Staff
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4850


Semi-acquatic egg-laying mammal of action


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2006, 02:02:03 PM »

Quote from: Hetz on November 25, 2006, 01:49:34 PM

Yes, I do....but my set (and 98% of the HDTV's out there) doesn't do native 1080p over component, only HDMI. My set does have a VGA input...but I'm not hooking my 360 up to that. I use that for other things.

Anyway, my set will take any signal and upconvert it to 1080p internally, so I don't need to set the 360 to output 1080p, since my set already does all the dirty work of upconverting.

Ah, ok, thanks. I was kind of curious, because I may unexpectedly be in the market for a new LCD monitor, and I'm thinking of getting the new 24" from Gateway (love their 21"), which does 1080p over component (with 2 sets of inputs!) as well as DVI.
Logged

Ruining language with my terrible words.
Captain Caveman
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1341


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2006, 05:07:05 PM »

Quote from: Hetz on November 25, 2006, 01:49:34 PM

Quote from: Misguided on November 25, 2006, 01:00:32 PM

I figured the system would upscale. Some of the games only say 720p, but you can set your output as 1080i and still play them at hi-res (unlike on the PS3 which downscales).

Hetz, you've got a 1080p set, don't you?

Yes, I do....but my set (and 98% of the HDTV's out there) doesn't do native 1080p over component, only HDMI. My set does have a VGA input...but I'm not hooking my 360 up to that. I use that for other things.

Anyway, my set will take any signal and upconvert it to 1080p internally, so I don't need to set the 360 to output 1080p, since my set already does all the dirty work of upconverting.

I was looking at buying a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD TV. I just noticed, however, that it doesn't have a VGA input. Would I still be able to play my Xbox 360 in 1080p?
Logged
Kevin Grey
Global Moderator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13976


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2006, 05:41:17 PM »

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 05:07:05 PM

I was looking at buying a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD TV. I just noticed, however, that it doesn't have a VGA input. Would I still be able to play my Xbox 360 in 1080p?

Unless it supports 1080p over component (very rare), then, no, you will not be able to play in 1080p without VGA. 
Logged
Captain Caveman
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1341


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2006, 06:50:58 PM »

Quote from: Kevin Grey on November 25, 2006, 05:41:17 PM

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 05:07:05 PM

I was looking at buying a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD TV. I just noticed, however, that it doesn't have a VGA input. Would I still be able to play my Xbox 360 in 1080p?

Unless it supports 1080p over component (very rare), then, no, you will not be able to play in 1080p without VGA. 

Well, fuck.

Any chance the 360 is going to allow for 1080p via HDMI? If not, maybe I should start looking at LCD TVs with a VGA input. I think the Samsung models have them.
Logged
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11248


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2006, 07:02:32 PM »

Don't you all miss the days of the NES when you just hooked it up with the RF cable and knew it would work?  All these different connection types, resolutions and potential interface problems with expensive TVs are making things much more complex than most people want to deal with, I think. 

I know it certainly annoyes me.  When I buy a console I want to have the same experience that my friend is having, and it's going the way of PC gaming: more complexity and expenses to get the best out of the games. 
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
Knightshade Dragon
Administrator
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 21081



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2006, 07:10:40 PM »

Quote
Don't you all miss the days of the NES
*blows on cartridge*

Whaa?   paranoid
Logged

Ron Burke
EiC, Director of Gaming Trend
Gamertag:
Gaming Trend
PS3 Tag: GamingTrend
Hetz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4217


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2006, 08:12:47 PM »

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 06:50:58 PM

Quote from: Kevin Grey on November 25, 2006, 05:41:17 PM

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 05:07:05 PM

I was looking at buying a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD TV. I just noticed, however, that it doesn't have a VGA input. Would I still be able to play my Xbox 360 in 1080p?

Unless it supports 1080p over component (very rare), then, no, you will not be able to play in 1080p without VGA. 

Well, fuck.

Any chance the 360 is going to allow for 1080p via HDMI? If not, maybe I should start looking at LCD TVs with a VGA input. I think the Samsung models have them.

Lots of people are hoping that MS will wake up and make HDMI an option for video output....but so far, they are not saying they will. The HD-DVD add on would have been the perfect time to do it, but they didn't. I really hope that they do eventually though.
Logged

XBox Live: Hetz OO
PSN: Hetz76
Steam: hetz_gg
JR
Gaming Trend Reader

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2006, 08:58:46 PM »

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 06:50:58 PM

Quote from: Kevin Grey on November 25, 2006, 05:41:17 PM

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 05:07:05 PM

I was looking at buying a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD TV. I just noticed, however, that it doesn't have a VGA input. Would I still be able to play my Xbox 360 in 1080p?

Unless it supports 1080p over component (very rare), then, no, you will not be able to play in 1080p without VGA. 

Well, fuck.

Any chance the 360 is going to allow for 1080p via HDMI? If not, maybe I should start looking at LCD TVs with a VGA input. I think the Samsung models have them.

I wouldn't be so sure about the sharp.  I have the 37" aquos that does in fact support 1080p over component.  The sad thing is for some reason 1080p over the VGA (DVI really) is borked.
Logged
msduncan
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 2993


Roll Tide!!!!


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2006, 02:10:21 AM »

Pardon my total ignorance....

But what is better?  1080p or 1080i,   or 1080i or 780p?

I'm totally illiterate when it comes to these resolution issues.    I know one thing so far:  if I try to set my Xbox to 1080p, the screen goes black and crazy and I have to hit the 'b' button to get back out.    It does allow me to switch it to 1080i though.
Logged
Hetz
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4217


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2006, 02:13:14 AM »

1080p is the best resolution you can get.

1080i vs 720p....well that is more complicated and people get into huge arguments over it. Technically, 1080i is the better resolution....but it's not progressive scan, which some claim makes 720p the better choice, due to motion blur and some other things that can occur with interlaced signals when fast action is displayed.
Logged

XBox Live: Hetz OO
PSN: Hetz76
Steam: hetz_gg
EngineNo9
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11248


I said good day, sir!


View Profile WWW
« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2006, 02:21:20 AM »

Quote from: msduncan on November 27, 2006, 02:10:21 AM

Pardon my total ignorance....

But what is better?  1080p or 1080i,   or 1080i or 780p?

I'm totally illiterate when it comes to these resolution issues.    I know one thing so far:  if I try to set my Xbox to 1080p, the screen goes black and crazy and I have to hit the 'b' button to get back out.    It does allow me to switch it to 1080i though.

The number in the resolution refers to the number of scanlines on the TV and is similar to the second, vertical number that you would see in a PC monitor's resolution.  

The 'i' or 'p' refers to interlaced or progressive scan modes, or how the pixels of the screen are drawn.  Interlaced is how old, non-HDTVs drew the screen, by doing every other line each frame (line 1, 3, 5... the first frame and 2,4,6, etc the second for example).  Progressive scan (non-interlaced) is similar to a PC monitor in that it draws every scanline in it's entirety each frame.  
Logged

Sandwiches do fix everything.
Captain Caveman
Gaming Trend Senior Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 1341


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2006, 05:16:33 PM »

Quote from: JR on November 25, 2006, 08:58:46 PM

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 06:50:58 PM

Quote from: Kevin Grey on November 25, 2006, 05:41:17 PM

Quote from: Captain Caveman on November 25, 2006, 05:07:05 PM

I was looking at buying a 42" Sharp Aquos 1080p LCD TV. I just noticed, however, that it doesn't have a VGA input. Would I still be able to play my Xbox 360 in 1080p?

Unless it supports 1080p over component (very rare), then, no, you will not be able to play in 1080p without VGA. 

Well, fuck.

Any chance the 360 is going to allow for 1080p via HDMI? If not, maybe I should start looking at LCD TVs with a VGA input. I think the Samsung models have them.

I wouldn't be so sure about the sharp.  I have the 37" aquos that does in fact support 1080p over component.  The sad thing is for some reason 1080p over the VGA (DVI really) is borked.

Thanks for the tip! I looked into it and the Sharp I was looking at actually does do 1080p over component, which means that the 360 will upconvert games to 1080p on this TV. However, for some reason, the HD-DVD player will only upconvert to 1080p via VGA, so I'd be out of luck there. Really, though, I don't think that's too big of a sticking point. On a 42" TV, the difference between 720p/1080i and 1080p for movies shouldn't be that great.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.096 seconds with 59 queries. (Pretty URLs adds 0.029s, 2q)